| 5.8°C Dublin

Doyle spot on to earn Belvedere U16 Barry crown

BELVEDERE FC ... ... ................................. ... .2

REGIONAL UNITED ... .............................. ... 0

(After Extra-Time)

DAVID DOYLE was the talk of North Dublin last night as his cultured left peg helped Belvedere lift the U-16 Barry Cup.

On a sun-baked afternoon down on the Farm, it was hard work for the players, and it was a tussle that always looked likely to be heading for extra-time ... ... ..even penalties.

A large crowd looked on, and the majority of the drama was reserved for the second period of extra-time as Doyle converted two penalties to win the prize against a very decent and slick-moving Limerick side.

Five minutes into the second period of extra-time, Belvo won a 30-yard free to the right of the goal at the all-weather pitch end. Doyle took it. A linesman spotted a hand ball in the box.

Up stepped Doyle, and he struck the perfect penalty, high to the left corner with pace. Three minutes later, the Dubliners got another spot-kick.

This time, Donal Timoney was fouled, and, once again, Doyle tucked home the kick with assurance.

In the first half of normal time, Doyle, following a lovely first touch, was inches wide and Dean Gannon also went close.

Unfortunately, Gannon was sent off 13 minutes into the second half, but Belvo's battling qualities, especially in the heat, had to be admired.

Early in the second half of normal time, United almost got in for a goal but Jason Ryan cleared, and the Regional came up against an exceptional goalkeeper in Arran McKenna.

The Limerick 'keeper, Nathan Clancy, also showed his class in saving from Hayden Burke and Timoney, while Timoney also saw a shot come back off the underside of the bar in the 68th minute.

BELVEDERE FC: Arran McKenna; Josh McMahon, Stephen McKnight, Owen Evans, Jason Ryan, Padraig Murphy, Gavin Carroll, Hayden Burke, Dylan Byrne, David Doyle, Dean Gannon. Donal Timoney, Ryan Carroll, Dylan O'Rourke, Colm Matthews, Colin McPartlin, Luke Finlay.

REGIONAL UNITED: Nathan Clancy; Evan Patterson, Pat Reagan, Conor O'Halloran, Paudie O'Connor, Declan Cusack, Evan Cusack, Kyle Cotter, Liam McCartan, Luke O'Connell, Nathan Clancy. Jack Lyons, Cian McSweeney, Brian Ryan, Eoin Ryan.

Referee: John Molloy. Assistants: T McGuinness, P Brennan. Fourth Official: B Hudson.

niall scully