| 6.3°C Dublin

Dolan eyes title as champ Taylor bows out

BREDAN DOLAN is into tomorrow’s PartyPoker.com World Darts Grand Prix quarter-final and won’t be joined by 10-time winner and world number one Phil Taylor, who suffered a shock defeat at Citywest.

DOLAN cruised through his second round match against the out of form Van der Voort on a 3-1 scoreline and set up a last eight tie against Justin Pipe, who caused an upset to knock out Kevin Painter, also last night in Dublin

Having reached the final of the event last year and making history by becoming the first player to hit a televised nine-darter with a double start, Dolan is full of confidence he can go a step further this year.

He said: “The scoreline may look comfortable, but there’s nothing comfortable when you’ve having to start with a double! The crowds are unreal for me, they’re like an extra dart and they get my adrenaline flowing when I get up on stage.”

The Fermanagh native was a relative unknown going into last year’s competition but is a firm crowd favourite after those exploits and his continued progress in Dublin.

“My finishing’s superb at the moment and I’m feeling brilliant. My finishing is the best part of the game, when it might have been the worst in the past.”

Asked if he can win the tournament, Dolan said: “I have every opportunity, and why not, with that support and crowd behind me. I feel that I belong in the major events now.”

Kevin Painter took Pipe to the last set of their tight encounter but Pipe just had enough in reserve to set up a meeting with Dolan in tomorrow’s night’s big quarter-final tie.

Robert Thornton took the scalp of Taylor for a second straight televised tournament when coming from a set down to beat the reigning champion.

Taylor was a leg away from victory but Thornton battled back to win the last two legs to set up a quarter-final tie with Mervyn King.

Tonight’s action sees World Champion Adrian Lewis take on rapid Dutch thrower Michael van Gerwen in what looks to be the tie of the evening. Andy Hamilton and Steve Beaton kick off proceedings, while Paul Nicholson will clash with Colin Osborne. Ian White takes on Wes Newton.