| 11.5°C Dublin

Crangle leads Dubs for intercounty dates

THE Dublin Gents team that has been announced for the forthcoming Leinster and National Inter-County Championships has one player, JR Crangle, who is on the Top Ten Order of Merit standings.

Crangle is ranked at number six, Also on board the Dublin side is Derek Courtney, who was on the last Dublin team to win the National title at Waterford Crystal in 1999.

The Leinster Championship goes ahead in Lucan on tomorrow week, August 8th, while the St Anne's club in Cork hosts the National event on the weekend of September 11th and 12th.

On home soil, Cork will be seeking their record eighth title in succession. Dublin won seven on the bounce from 1967 to 1973.

The Dublin Ladies team has also been named. Two of the players, Ger Ward (3) and Sheelagh Elmes (10) are in Ireland's top 10.

Dublin are a very experienced crew, several of whom were on the side that took National glory last season.

Dublin's confidence will be strengthened by the fact that Ward collected the National Senior Strokeplay crown this season, her 14th Major.

Dublin Gents: JR Crangle (Loughlinstown), George McGreal (Old County), Derek Courtney (Glenville), Anthony Malone (Lucan), Darren O'Reilly (CPM), Stephen Murray (Old County).

Dublin Ladies: Ger Ward (Portmarnock), Sheelagh Elmes (Portmarnock), Maree O'Toole (Shandon), Ger Holland (RGSC), Barbara Furlong (Lucan), Siobhan Keeley (RGSC).