| 3.8°C Dublin

Clohisey wins Dungarvan 10-mile


Olympian Mick Clohisey

Olympian Mick Clohisey

Olympian Mick Clohisey

Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock AC was back to winning ways at the John Treacy Dungarvan 10-Mile where he finished in 48 mins 16 secs.

Kevin Maunsell of Clonmel AC was second in 48:30 and Conor Duffy of Glaslough Harriers third in 50:07. Dublin visitors Crusaders AC were first of the 25 teams, beating East Cork AC and St Finbarr's AC from Cork.

First woman in 54 mins 23 secs was Irish marathon champion Aoife Cooke of Eagle AC. Sarah McMahon of Dundrum South Dublin AC was second in 59:16 and Fiona Santry of East Cork AC third in 60:18. Fourth and first W45 was Angela McCann of Clonmel AC, winner of the Cork Marathon last year. Aoife Cooke's aunt, the great Mary Sweeney of St Finbarr's AC, finished third W55.

Eagle AC proved best of a massive women's team entry of 43; Watergrasshill AC and Clonmel AC finished second and third.

A record 2,498 finished the race in Dungarvan. In Co Meath, Yared Derese of Carrick Aces led home over 1,500 finishers at the Trim 10-Mile, which means that the two races had around around 4,000 finishers between them.

By halfway in Trim, which he reached in 23 mins 32 secs, Derese had built up a minute's lead and he went on to win the race in 48 mins 1 sec, with Eric Keogh of Donore Harriers, the only other athlete to break 50 minutes, second in 49:29. Hugh Armstrong of Ballina AC was third in 50:22 and former Olympic race walker Colin Griffin of Ballinamore AC, fourth in 51:56.

First woman was Ciara Durkan of Skerries AC in 59:16, who is coming back into form after a long battle with injury.