| 13°C Dublin

Chase signs 'A' contract


CRICKET IRELAND has announced central contracts for 24 players for 2015, nine of whom are in the second year of a two-year contract.

Malahide speedster Peter Chase and Donemana all-rounder Andrew McBrine have been given full-time category A contracts.

They join John Mooney, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Alex Cusack, Craig Young and Kevin O'Brien in the top category. There are 11 players in the B category, with the nine county-based players joined by Andrew Poynter and Graeme McCarter, who have been promoted from Category C.

Waringstown all-rounder Lee Nelson, and CIYMS opening batsman Chris Dougherty earn their first contracts in the C category, where they join Eddie Richardson, James Shannon and John Anderson.