| 13°C Dublin

Beaufort take the scalp of Sackville

THE big names continue to fall in the Leinster Senior Cup as Loreto, Beaufort saw off Mount Sackville on penalties earlier this week.

Normal time ended 1-1, but Beaufort prevailed in a sudden death shoot-out to add Sackville to Alexandra College on the list of quarter-final absentees. Another big name will also fall at the second round phase as Rathdown – who play in the Premier League final today – take on Wesley College, making it one of the most open draws in years.

St Andrew's, the other Premier finalist, had no such problems as they cruised past Loreto, Bray 5-0 while reigning champions Mount Anville were 8-1 victors over Senior One side Notre Dame in a Dublin derby.



Irish senior international panelist Sara Twomey netted a hat-trick, while younger sister Sophie was on the mark twice in that success. High School, meanwhile, were 3-0 winners over Loreto, Foxrock.

All eyes, though, will be on today's final showdown between Andrew's and Rathdown for the first major silverware of 2014.

Under the tutelage of Nicky King and Jenny Burke, Rachel O'Brien leads the former's line following an impressive season to date, with four wins from six group outings backed up by a 2-1 win over Alexandra College in the semi-final.

Rathdown, meanwhile, overcame Mount Sackville 1-0 in their semi-final, with Steph Burns getting the only goal of the game deep into the second half to put them in the frame for a first senior crown.

They are coached by Graham Shaw, who recently took charge of the Irish senior women's panel on a tour to Spain, while he has led Monkstown to a string of club trophies in the past year.

Following on from his Glenanne days, when he won every trophy in the game, he is hoping to add a breakthrough win to Rathdown's list.

Leinster Girls' Senior Premier League, semi-final: Rathdown 1 (Steph Burns) Mount Sackville 0

Leinster Schoolgirls Senior Cup, second round: Loreto, Bray 0 St Andrew's 5; Notre Dame 1 Mt Anville 8 (Sara Twomey 3, Sophie Twomey 2, L McGrath, A Marsh, J Holland); Mt Sackville 1 Loreto, Beaufort 1 (Loreto, Beaufort win on penalties); Loreto on the Green 0 The Kings Hospital 2; Loreto, Foxrock 0 High School 3