| 8.6°C Dublin

athy hit three to rock barn!

Barnhall Rovers...............0

Athy Town AFC...................3

Athy Town moved into third position in the Cooks Cabin Division 2 having picked up six valuable points during the week to keep the pressure on frontrunners Newbridge Colts and Redwood FC. On Wednesday evening they defeated Clane United 3-0 away and travelled to Leixlip on Saturday and registered the same result against Barnhall Rovers but were made battle all the way against a much improved Rovers side.

Athy's presistance finally paid off ten minutes before the break when James Clancy was put through by Aaron Meade and his cross into the box was cleared for a corner by Alan Power in the Rovers defence.

Lee Foley's subsequent corner was headed goalward by Stephen May and was partially cleared by keeper Adam Reilly and May was on hand to tap home from close range to give the Athy side a slender 1-0 lead.

The home side threw everything at the visitors just after the restart in an effort to restore parity and visiting keeper Gavin Dunphy had to be at his very best to get down low and palm away a well struck effort from Luke Scanlon who had been put through by Ross Murray after 55 minutes and Murray himself was unlucky soon after to see his long range effort just shave the visitors post.

On a rare break Athy extended their lead midway through the half when Shane Foley latched onto a through ball from Ian Foley and as he was bearing down on goal was fouled. Ian Foley's free was powered home low to the bottom corner of Reilly's net to double their advantage.

The visitors shaded the final quarter and added a third with minutes on the clock when substitute Karl Foley won a ball 30 yards out and his pinpoint pass found Alan Sunderland in space and his 18 yard strike gave Adam Reilly no chance to run out 3-0 victors on the day. Best for the winners were Stephen May, Ian Foley, Niall Foley, James Clancy and Alan Sunderland while for an unlucky Barnhall David O Sullivan, Damien Scanlon, Kevin larkin and Allan Egan never gave up.

Barnhall Rovers: Adam Reilly, Damien Scanlon, Alan Power, Allan Egan, Dennis McCarthy, Kevin Lawlor, Ian Tighe, Colm McManus, David O Sullivan, Luke Scanlon, Ross Murray, Ger Allen, Paul Poland, Brendan Lennon, Paddy O Neill.

Athy Town AFC: Gavin Dunphy, Niall Foley, Aaron Meade, Ian Foley, Stephen May, Davon Germaine, Lee Foley, Alan Sunderland, Corey Maher, Shane Foley, James Clancy, Karl Foley, Donal Harrington, Sean petterson, Jack Bolger.

Referee: Eric McCann.