| 15.8°C Dublin

Anville Mount cup fight with Moore heroics


MOUNT ANVILLE produced a stunning late comeback against St Gerard's to earn a place in the quarter-finals of the Junior A Cup as the competition advances apace.

The Bray school are the reigning league champions and, powered by Irish Under-16 international trialist Ruby Neville, stormed through the first round of the competition with an 8-0 win over St Raphaela's.

And they looked on course in round two when they led 2-1 going into the closing minute of their tie with Mount Anville.

The Goatstown school, though, nabbed a last-gasp equaliser and subsequently won the game in extra-time 3-2, with Rachel Moore grabbing the winner, while Sophie Twomey and Sophie Murphy were also on the mark.

Indeed, they look a quality outfit having won at minor level a couple of years ago and have five Leinster Under-16 stars in their line-up, including elusive winger Claudia Cotter.

They are joined in the next round by Rathdown, for whom Alana Horgan scored the only goal in a 1-0 win over Mount Sackville. Sophie Lyons, meanwhile, grabbed a solo strike as Loreto Beaufort saw off St Andrew's 1-0.

At senior level, the race for the Premier League semi-final spaces developed significantly in Section B.

Alexandra College picked up two wins in the past week. Last Saturday, they ran up a 3-0 win over Muckross Park, with Anna Roopnarinesingh netting from a first half penalty corner.

Lucie Wolfe and Amber Gleeson extended the lead to make it three wins from three and it became four wins on Tuesday afternoon with a 3-1 success against King's Hospital. Roopnarinesingh got another two, meaning her side can qualify for the final four if they see off Rathdown later this month.

High School, meanwhile, strengthened their position in the group as they saw off Loreto Foxrock 3-0.

Wesley are four points clear at the top of Section A following their 4-0 win over St Kilian's.

Senior Schoolgirls Premier League, Section A: Mount Anville 1 (Sophie Twomey) Loreto Beaufort 1 (Sophie MacMahon); St Kilian's 0 Wesley College 4. SECTION B: Alexandra College 3 (A Roopnarinesingh, L Wolfe, A Gleeson) Muckross Park 0; Alexandra 3 (A Roopnarinesingh 2, M O'Donnell) Kings Hos 1 (N Beckett); High School 3 (L Barlow, S Fox, R Keating) Loreto Foxrock 0.

Junior Cup, second round: Loreto Beaufort 1 (S Lyons) St Andrew's 0; Rathdown 1 (A Horgan) Mount Sackville 0; Mount Anville 3 (S Murphy, S Twomey, R Moore) St Gerard's 2 (after extra-time).