| 11°C Dublin

Andy McEvoy title for St Fergal's

ST FERGAL'S AFC have reached the promised land of the Andy McEvoy Premier Division.

They have reached the Andy McEvoy Premier for the first time in their history after Celtic Stars gave them a walk-over from a game that would have decided who was to be promoted from the Pat O'Toole Division.

With champions Rathnew AFC already having a team in the top-flight, they cannot go up.

With Wicklow Town assured of least third place, they were promoted two weeks ago.

It meant that the winners of the St. Fergal's and Celtic Stars clash – schedule for Thursday May 30 at the Ballywaltrim Recreational Park in Bray – would finish second.

A draw would have meant a play-off between the two clubs. But the Shillelagh side conceded the match to the Saints.

There has been much speculation that 'Stars are considering a move to the Carlow League. But that claim has been rejected by the club.

Meanwhile, on the pitch, Ballywaltrim FC defeated MK Dons 7-0 to move closer to a Division 3 play-off for runners-up with Arklow United.

The trio of Emmet Costello, Thomas Cowan and Stephen Temple all bagged doubles with Shane Dunne also on the mark on Tuesday May 28.

It means that if they secure maximum points in their two remaining two games – at home to Carnew United and away to Carnew Celtic – the Bray outfit will force the extra game with the Charlie Byrne Cup champions to see who gets promoted.

Over 35s Division is shelved for season

Elsewhere, the Wicklow League Executive Committee has decided not to stage the Harry Griffith Senior over 35 Division for the 2013 campaign.

Arklow Town had won the inaugural trophy back in 2011 while Shamrock Bhoys took the title last September.

However, despite initial interest from between seven and 12 clubs, only three teams had met the application dead-line.

The Wicklow League issued a statement on their website which reads "Due to the lack of interest shown by clubs this year the decision has been taken to cancel the league for 2013 season.

Only three applications were received by last week's deadline. The clubs who kindly sent in fees will be refunded."