| 12.1°C Dublin

2013 edition of Leinster's U16s looks brand new

Guy Sarratt (pictured) and John Guilfoyle are the sole remaining players from the Leinster Under-16 squad of 2012 as coach Niall Denham heads up a new-look panel for the 2013 edition of the interprovincials.

Their side are hoping to win back the title after a run of four wins in five years was ended last time around by Ulster in Garryduff.

Last time out, Sarratt was on the mark in a 2-0 win over Munster last year but, ultimately, a 3-0 loss at the hands of the northern province cost a highly-talented side dear.

And now they must breach Newtownabbey to prise back the title.

It is a side that features seven of the St Andrew's school team that won the Under-14 John Waring All-Ireland schools title a year ago, including Ben Bradley, Ivan Cooke, Elliott Goode, Adam Larmour and Ben Walker in addition to Sarratt and Guilfoyle.

Wesley's Gavin Gibney, meanwhile, offers a powerful drag-flicking option having been involved with the school's senior team, which won silver last week in the Tasmanian Shield.

His schoolmate Harry McMahon provides a calm assurance either at the back or in midfield and strong distribution skills.

Overall, five schools are represented with Andrew's making up half the squad while Mount Temple, St Kilian's and High School have a player a piece in the line-up though Temple could have a second player involved.

Michael Fulham has been named as first reserve should any of the other players be injured between now and the tournament.

The squad was announced over the mid-term break ahead of a tournament that gets underway on November 22 and runs for three days.

Leinster U-16s: Alex Barlow (Wesley/Pembroke), Ben Bradley (St Andrew's/Monkstown), Luke Campion (Wesley/Three Rock Rovers), Ivan Cooke (St Andrew's/Pembroke), Conor Empey (High School/Three Rock Rovers), Gavin Gibney (Wesley/Three Rock Rovers), Elliot Goode (St Andrew's/Avoca), John Guilfoyle (St Andrew's/Monkstown), Sam Hyland (Wesley/Monkstown), Adam Larmour (St Andrew's/Monkstown), Joshua Little St Andrew's/Monkstown), Harry McMahon (Wesley/Three Rock Rovers), Jack O'Grady (Wesley/YMCA), David Power (Mount Temple/Clontarf), Daniel Rees (St Kilian's/Railway Union), Mateo Romeli (St Andrew's/Monkstown), Guy Sarratt (St Andrew's/ Monkstown), Ben Walker (St Andrew's/Three Rock Rovers)