| 9°C Dublin

Kerry revs up at Mondello


Kerry O’Flaherty crosses the line at Mondello

Kerry O’Flaherty crosses the line at Mondello

Kerry O’Flaherty crosses the line at Mondello

Kerry O'Flaherty of Newcastle and District and Hiko Tonosa of Dundrum South Dublin AC emerged as overall winners of the KIA race series with victories at the Mondello 10km in Naas, Co Kildare.

For Tonosa, it was a seventh victory out of seven starts in the eight-race series.

His time of 30:16 saw him hold off the challenge of Raheny's Kevin Dooney, who was running his first race in some months and finished in 30:29.

Third, in 30:37, was Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock, who had one victory in the series to his credit.

O'Flaherty was taking a fifth win in the series and finished in 34.45 and 10th overall. One place behind was Laura Shaughnessy in 34.45.

The pair were chasing the mixed team prize of €1,000 and had teamed up with Tonosa and Clohisey as 'Mick's Bag'.

With four in the top eleven, they duly pocketed the extra €1,000, beating off a team (somewhat dubiously) called 'Ravishing Raheny Rides' which consisted of Kevin Dooney, Graham O'Dwyer, fifth-placed woman Zoe Quinn and eighth-placed woman Orla Manley.

First in the wheelchair race was Patrick Monahan of Le Cheile AC in 24:24.

In Cork, Tim O'Donoghue was out on his own at the John Buckley Sports Cork 10-mile, leading home 740 finishers in 51:30.

His East Cork clubmate Kevin O'Leary was second in 54.13 and Colin Merritt third and first master in 54.44.

Leevale's Jill Hodgins proved the class of the women's field winning in 60:24. Second and third were Catherine Kiely of Gneeveguilla AC and Katie Hickson of Cork Tri Club.


Freddy Sittuk of Raheny Shamrocks was having a busy time of it on Saturday.

He started his day in Blessington where he won The Lakes 10km in 32:33.

Louis McCarthy of Rathfarnham WSAF was second in 32.37, with Eoin Callaghan of Star of the Sea a close third in 32.40.

A clear winner of the women's race in 38:37 was Sandra Lynch of Kilcoole AC.

Freddy then headed for Ferns, in Co Wexford, close to his current residence, where, later that day, he was first home at the Mick Murphy Memorial four mile in a time of 20:38.

Cian Kelly of St Abban's, who finished in 21:14, just held off Aidan Rogers of United Striders for second place. First woman was Fiona Kehoe of Kilmore AC in 23:32.

Catherine O'Connor of Sli Cualann was second in 23.52 and Justine O'Connell third in 25.03.

Winners of the Ratoath Half Marathon were Stephen Kelly of Drogheda and District in 74:48 and Aoife Parella of Star of the Sea AC in 91:45.

Dunleer's Darragh Green and Irish steeplechase champion Michele Finn of Leevale AC were the winners at the Dromiskin 5km in Co Louth, which attracted a record entry of 610 starters.

Greene's time of 14:59 put him comfortably clear of Paddy Hamilton of Slieve Gullion Runners who finished in 15:15.

Former Olympian Shane Healy of MSB was third and first M50 in 15.32.

Finn finished eighth overall in 16.45. Tallaght's Laura McDonnell was second and Michelle Cox of Newbridge third.