| 5.6°C Dublin

In-form Rock rewarded with Dublin call-up

DEAN ROCK has become the latest addition to the Dublin senior football squad after he was invited to train with Pat Gilroy’s panel on Tuesday evening.

The Ballymun Kickhams man - briefly a senior panelist in 2009 - joins his fellow DCU Sigerson Cup winner, Johnny Cooper in the senior ranks after he was called up last week.

Rock top scored for DCU during their four-game campaign, kicking |0-23 (15f) and playing predominantly at centre-forward as the Northside College steamrolled their way to a third title in six years, and Gilroy hasn’t been slow in rewarding their stellar performers.

Cooper was asked up immediately after that victory and made an immediate impression, coming on for James McCarthy in last week’s Allianz Division 1 cakewalk against Armagh in Croke Park when kicking two points in his ten minutes on the field.

It brings to five the number of starters on DCU’s winning Sigerson team currently involved with Dublin, along with Philly McMahon, McCarthy and Eoghan O’Gara.

DUBLIN’S minor footballers overwhelmed Westmeath, 4-16 to 0-8, in Leinster MFL action at Newcastle last night. Dessie Farrell’s men started their campaign with a 3-19 to 1-9 victory over Wicklow two weeks’ ago and last Monday they drew (1-12 to 3-6) with Offaly, meaning the Faithful County must defeat Wicklow by a massive tally to deny the Dubs a semi-final spot.

WEXFORD boss, Liam Dunne, has made wholesale changes for Sunday’s NHL Division 1B meeting with Limerick. Niall Breen, James Tonks, Jim Berry, Rory Jacob, Darren Stamp and Stephen Banville all come in for their promotion ‘four-pointer’.

WEXFORD (SH v Limerick): N Breen; J Tonks, K Rossiter, B Kehoe; D Stamp, M O’Hanlon, C Kenny; H Kehoe, D Redmond; J Berry, E Quigley, PJ Nolan; R Jacob, S Banville, D O’Keeffe.

CAVAN (SF v Offaly): K Fannin; D Barkey, D Reilly, R Flanagan; B Watters, P O’Reilly, R Maloney; D Givney, G McKiernan; N Smith, M McKeever, K Meehan; B Fitzpatrick, N McDermott, M Dunne.