| 10.5°C Dublin

Great Expectations for big Championship Lift-Off

THE golden trumpet is sounding for tomorrow's big Championship throw-in.

It's the most prestigious prize in Dublin's Ladies Football - the Michael Murphy Cup.

Rathcoole were the first county champions in 1985. They have been followed by some celebrated names.

They include UCD, Marino, St Monica's, Robert Emmet's, Portobello, Ballyboden St Enda's, Na Fianna, Foxrock Cabinteely and Fingallians.

Na Fianna are the champions. They beat the Fox Cabs in a Swords sizzler.

It maintained the high excitement and standard of many recent finals.

In 2013, Fingallians beat the Glasnevin club in a replay. The two matches had the Parnell Palladium on its feet.

The previous year saw another classic as the Fox Cabs defeated Na Fianna to lift their first title.


The 2009 final also decorated the Dublin HQ as the Mobhi girls pipped MearnĂ³g.

Group A begins this season's event as Fingallians play St Brigid's and Kilmacud Crokes host Na Fianna.

The Stillorgan outfit are the Intermediate champs. And they went on some adventure after that. Now they will strive to scale fresh peaks.