| 19.4°C Dublin

Gough sets a new world record

West Waterford's Joe Gough became the first athlete to set a world record at the Athlone's AIT arena when he ran 2 mins 14.06 secs at the Leinster Indoors.

He set a new world over-60 record. His time broke the existing best of 2:14.23 held by Horace Grant of the USA.

Tomás Fitzpatrick of Tallaght made a winning return to the Creane and Creane Enniscorthy 10km after winning the Dungarvan 10-Mile a few weeks ago. He pushed the pace from the start, winning in 29 mins 59 secs. Galway's Gary Thornton passed Mick Clohisey of Raheny for second place in the later stages of the race.

Fiona Stack of Raheny, in training for the Rotterdam Marathon next April, won the women's race in 36 mins 58 secs from Sonya McConnon of Rathfarnham WSAF.

A notable finisher was Mick Byrne of Slí Cualann, who suffered a serious heart attack only a year ago. He not only finished in 34 mins 52 secs, but took the M50 prize.

1Barbara Cleary was sixth overall and first woman in 37 mins 5 secs at the Castleconnell Rowing Club 10km in Co Limerick.


Former Olympian Noel Berkeley and current Irish international Sarah McCormack were the winners at the Corrin Hill trail race near Fermoy. McCormack was in contention throughout and finished third overall – only 15 seconds behind Berkeley. In Dublin, Diarmaid Collins and orienteer Maeve O'Grady were the winners of the 8.8km at the first of this year's Urban Trails Series in Marlay Park.


Hundreds of juniors, seniors and masters are expected to converge on the Battle of the Boyne site at Oldbridge in Drogheda on Sunday for the annual Rás na hÉireann. Among them is a team from Poland that includes Marek Skorupa and Krzystof Zebrowski, who have both run close to eight minutes for 3000m. Victory in last year's men's 6km race went to American athlete Brendan Gregg. A packed programme begins at 11.50 am, with senior races from 1.30pm. Entry fee for all races is just €5.


Eoin Keith, holder of multiple Irish records for ultra running, heads the entry for Sunday's Irish 50km Championships in Donadea, Co Kildare. Other entries include John O'Regan of Le Chéile, a former Irish 24-hour champion, Keith Whyte from Ennis, the Irish 100km record holder, last year's winner Barry Minnock of Rathfarnham WSAF and West Waterford's Raivis Zakis, an ultra debutant. The women's entry includes defending champion Olwyn Dunne of Sportsworld, Charlotte Kearney of organising club Donadea Runners, and Deirdre Finn of Bilbao, who was third last year.