| 16.6°C Dublin

whelo's men land Ravens

THE holders, Ballymun Kickhams, were paired with Erin's Isle in last night's draw for the second round of the Dublin Senior Football Championship at Parnell Park.

The Leinster champions and All-Ireland finalists overcame Clondalkin's Round Towers in the opening round.

The Kilmacud Crokes versus Ballyboden St Enda's tie looks like being the pick of the crop.

Crokes last took gold in 2010, the year after Boden claimed their second title, beating St Jude's in the final.

The Tymon Tigers will meet UCD in what should be an interesting contest, while the St Vincent's-Na Fianna tussle will also get a top billing.

Vincent's are the Kings of Dublin football with their 24 championships, the last one coming under Mickey Whelan in 2007.

Na Fianna entered the exclusive three-in-a-row club in 2001, the golden days of Pillar Caffrey, and last season they secured Division 1 of the AFL.

Ballinteer St John's, who shocked Plunkett's/ER in the opening round will face another formidable opponent in St Sylvester's, while Parnell's against Templeogue Synge Street could also hum along.

Last night's dramatic extra-time winners, Raheny, managed by Ciaran Whelan, have an appointment against Fingal Ravens.

And the 2011 champs, St Brigid's, will face Thomas Davis, another full paid-up member of the three-in-a-row club.


St Vincent's v Na Fianna

UCD v St Jude's

Fingal Ravens v Raheny

Ballinteer St John's v St Sylvester's

St Brigid's v Thomas Davis

Kilmacud Crokes v Ballyboden St Enda's

Parnell's v Templeogue Synge Street

Erin's Isle v Ballymun Kickhams

(Dates to be decided)


St Mark's v St Oliver Plunkett's/ER

St Peregrine's v Lucan Sarsfields

Skerries Harps v St Patrick's (P)

St Anne's v Naomh Mearnóg

Cuala v Trinity Gaels

Clontarf v O'Toole's

Whitehall Colmcille v St Mary's

St Maur's v Round Towers (C)

(Dates to be decided)