| 9.9°C Dublin

Vins deny plunkett's IN THRILLER to hold onto title

ST Vincent's made it back-to-back Dublin SFC title last night in Parnell Park, beating St Oliver Plunkett's/ER by 0-14 to 1-10.

Tommy Conroy's men became the first team from the club to claim consecutive county crowns since 1977, St Vincent's most storied era.

The defending Leinster and All-Ireland champions withstood a late Plunkett's fightback after an opportunist goal from Alan Brogan and with Shane Carthy, Gavin Burke, Ciarán Dorney and Ruairí Trainor contributing 10 points from play between them, Vincent's just had too much firepower against what was the stingiest defence in the Championship.

They now go on to play Portlaoise in the Leinster club championship in two Sundays' time.

3SEE PAGES 40-41