| 16.3°C Dublin

Two Dubs on minor hurling selection


Dublin's Donal Leavy. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Dublin's Donal Leavy. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Dublin's Donal Leavy. Photo: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

The 2018 Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year was announced yesterday with two Dublin players making in onto the final 15.

Both Nh Olaf's Donal Leavy and Castleknock's Luke Swan are rewarded for their exploits at midfield and inside forward respectively as they helped Dublin to the Leinster MHC title following a thrilling victory over Kilkenny.

Swan scored a hat-trick in that incredible 6-19 to 7-12 success, following on from a similar feat in Dublin's opening group game against the Cats in Parnell Park back in May when he also plundered three goals.

Leavy was part of a talented centrefield partnership alongside Darragh Power and his influence was evident in Dublin's group win over Wexford when he scored four points from play and was equally prominent in their provincial decider win, especially in the second-half.

The Electric Ireland Minor Star Hurling Team of the Year features five players from back-to-back All-Ireland champions, Galway, as well as four players from this year's finalists, Kilkenny.

Young hurlers from Tipperary, Limerick as well as Dublin are also included on this year's list.


1 Patrick Rabbitte - Galway (St Mary's)

2 Conor Whelan - Tipperary (CJ Kickhams)

3 Shane Jennings - Galway (Ballinasloe)

4 Jamie Young - Kilkenny (O'Loughlin Gaels)

5 Darragh Maher - Kilkenny (St Lachtain's)

6 Seán Neary - Galway (Castlegar)

7 Seán Phelan - Tipperary (Nenagh Eire Og)

8 Conor Kelly - Kilkenny (O'Loughlin Gaels)

9 Donal Leavy - Dublin (Naomh Olaf)

10 James Devaney - Tipperary (Borris-Ileigh)

11 Cathal O'Neill - Limerick (Crecora-Manister)

12 Ciarán Brennan - Kilkenny (Bennettsbridge)

13 Luke Swan - Dublin (Castleknock)

14 Donal O'Shea - Galway (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

15 Dean Reilly - Galway (Pádraig Pearses)