| 4.9°C Dublin

Tierney can propel Parnells beyond Gaels


Trinity Gaels v Parnells (Swords, Tomorrow, 11.0)

TRINITY had the tallest order at the first fence -- a date with the champions. This will be another difficult tie. But it goes without saying that Charlie Redmond's lads will empty the tank.

There's plenty of Donaghmede diamonds to salute - dedicated footballers like Damien Mongey, David Sheridan, Peter Coyne and Gavin Trimble.

Parnells also had a searching first rounder -- a meeting with Kilmacud. Stephen Cluxton is a trump card. He has mastered the art of '45'.

Darren Myler, Mal Keena, Mark Fitzpatrick and Collie Quinn are diligent sentries. Philip Keogh is a clever player and then there's the considerable presence of names like Rooney, Parkinson and Begley.

Damien McCormack, Ciarán O'Keeffe, Declan Conlon and Graham Dillon will graft with intent to win ball for Trinity but MJ Tierney's accuracy should separate the sides..

Last year -- Trinity Gaels: 3rd Round. Parnells: 4th Round.

Last time champs -- Trinity Gaels: Never. Parnells: 1988.

2010 Championship Road -- Trinity Gaels: Lost to Ballyboden St Enda's by 12 points. Parnells: Lost to Kilmacud Crokes by 8 points.

Form -- Trinity Gaels (Division 1): W4 L8 D1. Parnells (Division 1): W7 L6.

VERDICT: Parnells