| 7.3°C Dublin


TEMPLEOGUE SYNGE STREET withstood some late and concerted Raheny pressure to eventually claim the Dublin Féile Peil na nÓg Division 3 title by 2-7 to 2-3 at Parnell Park last Sunday afternoon.

In a gripping decider, Synger led by 1-2 to 1-1 at the interval and an excellent start to the second-half looked to have set them on course for a comfortable victory.

However, Raheny battled back superbly for the final ten minutes, forcing incessant pressure on the Templeogue defence but apart from a few scares near the death, they absorbed wave after wave of attacks to eventually claim a four-point success.

The final included all that is synonymous with Féile football as both teams displays plenty of courage and no little skill in a final that had the large crowd gripped up until the final whistle.

That Templeogue took the spoils was largely down to a superb collective effort in which their towering full-forward Matthew McGettrick was a constant source of scores and possession.

McGettrick received valuable support over the course of the weekend from wing-forward Lorcan O'Dell while wing-back Killian Power was another player to emerge from the weekend with huge credit.

"After not playing well in our first game, the lads delivered in spades with great performances against Cuala, Raheny, Finglaiians and in the final and it was a great squad effort from all the players," said Synger mentor Matt O'Dell.

Despite the nature of the defeat, Raheny can derive massive pride from the manner of their display with the tireless promptings and running of their wing-forwards Tom Geary and Tadhg O'Donoghue reflecting their endeavours both in the final and in their group stage that featured matches against Cuala, St Jude's and Synge Street. Seán Lumley was another player to come out with massive credit as he excelled in his primary defensive duties at full-back while the midfield pairing of Liam Dunne and Eoin Bridgman provided a wealth of possession over the course of the weekend with full-forward Adam Codd a totemic presence at full-forward for Raheny.

Templeogue Synge Street: D Ryan, M Rigney, J O'Shea, C Power, B Dignam, M McGettrick, C Leahy, L O'Dell, K Elwood, J Bell, S McCormack, D McLoughlin, J Kenny, J Dempsey, E Hogan, O Moore, N Finnegan, E Byrne, C Bergin, E Sweeney, J O'Kelly, R Grainger.

Raheny: J Maguire, I McAweeney, S Lumley, H Corr, E Owens, R McGurk, S Ryan, L Dunne, E Bridgeman, T Geary, S Cummins, T O'Donoghue, K Kavanagh, A Codd, J Crimmins, L Kirwan, C Danilles, J Lynch, S Atkins, L Carroll, R House, A House, L Moreau.

Ref: O Ó Siochrú (Kilmacud Crokes).