| 9.7°C Dublin

'Tarf troop take spoils over Vinnies

Clontarf deservedly claimed the Dublin Féile na nÓg Division 2 title when overcoming St Vincent's by 3-5 to 0-7 in their entertaining decider at the St Peregrine's Grounds on Blakestown Road last Sunday afternoon.

It proved the perfect end to a superb weekend's football by the St Anne's Park club who came through a difficult group on Saturday that contained St Margaret's, St Maur's and Ballinteer St John's.

A 2-1 salvo from Jake Costello rescued a draw for Clontarf in their opening fixture against St Margaret's and vital wins were secured in the following two games with the 'Tarf half-back line of Fergal O'Byrne, Adam Beatty and John Hanley especially influential.


A semi-final clash with Na Fianna was Clontarf's reward and they duly obliged with Cian Mulligan, Mark Higgins and Alex Cooke featuring prominently in that victory.

With St Vincent's having come through their group, the final was a tight run encounter with Matthew McMahon registering an early point for Clontarf.

Kieran Byrne was exerting a strong influence in the vital exchanges around the middle third with a goal by Cathal Brennan handing 'Tarf a welcome 1-4 to 0-1 interval advantage.

The quality of football on show never showed any signs of dropping with Dara Moreau adding a pivotal second goal for the winners - who were playing into the teeth of a strong breeze upon the restart.


St Vincent's placed their opponents under some heavy pressure and they reduced their deficit with a number of points but the goal they needed to add momentum to their challenge proved elusive as the Clontarf defence excelled, most notably through full-back Tommy O'Brien.

A Dara Fagan goal effectively settled the tie in Clontarf's favour and with Barry Mangan impressing in the final, the win was rich reward for the efforts of Kieran McMahon and his management team.

Clontarf: A Beatty, K Bohan, C Brennan, K Byrne, A Cooke, J Costello, L Cunningham, M Dodd, C Davitt, D Fagan, A Garvey, L Hempenstall, M Hession, M Higgins, B Mangan, D McMahon, M McMahon, D Moreau, C Mulligan, T O'Brien, F O'Byrne, R Power, C Meehan, J Hanley.

St Vincent's: C Nolan, C King, C O'Neill, C O'Brien, C Sheridan, D Clarke, D Parker, D McBride, D O'Sullivan, E Adamson, E Reynolds, J Glennon, J Reynolds Hand, K Ward, L McGovern, L Harney, M Lestrange, M Rooney, R Finn, S O'Leary.

Ref: K Keane (St Finian's Swords).