| 13.6°C Dublin

Syls win battle of wills with resolute Raheny

St Sylvester's produced an impressive display in recording a 3-9 to 1-11 victory over Raheny in their Dublin Minor 'C' Hurling Championship Final at St Anne's Park on Sunday morning.

Most of the damage was done in the opening half, as the visitors struck for three precious goals and although Raheny battled gamely throughout, they couldn't reel in their opponents by the end.

The goals, scored by Thomas Richardson, the exceptional Gareth McGrath and Sean Kane, were augmented by points from Kevin O'Flynn and Derek Morris, and Sylvester's enjoyed a 3-4 to 0-6 interval lead.

Eoghan Smyth was Raheny's scorer-in-chief in the opening-half, with excellent scores from both frees and open play, while dual player Simon Deignan was an immense presence at centre-back for the hosts.

Raheny, who beat Naomh Fionnbarra in the semi-final, improved upon the resumption with corner-back Shane Kavanagh clearing a pile of ball while midfielder Brian Fenton was prominent throughout, scoring three points over the hour.


Despite increased levels of possession, Raheny were struggling to make serious inroads against a dogged Syls rearguard in which goalkeeper David Kennedy was given excellent protection from his full-back line.

However, with full-back Danny Reid in top form, Raheny were keeping matters similarly tight at their end and a goal from Dublin minor footballer Rutherson Real with 10 minutes remaining breathed fresh life into their challenge.

The Malahide lads composed themselves sufficiently with points by O'Flynn, Conor Meaney and Shane Cunningham getting Syls over the line by the end, to the delight of mentor Eddie McLoughney, who manages the side along with Colm O'Connor and Declan McGrath.

"This is the first time in around 15 years that Sylvester's have won a minor hurling championship at any level. They are a great group of hurlers and hopefully the majority will filter through to intermediate and senior ranks in the club," said McLoughney.