| 15.2°C Dublin

Sweetnam thrilled at county progress ahead of big clash

RICHIE SWEETNAM is managing the OZO Dub All-Stars for Saturday's Stillorgan Showdown, and he's been impressed by the strides the sport is making.

"Things have been progressing nicely in Dublin for the last while," judges Richie. "The standard is getting better all the time.

"There's a lot of effort being put in from the Nursery level right up. And there's marvellous work going on in the underage structure, all the way to the new minor grade.

"It was good to see the minor division established. The girls will get the benefit, and that can only help the clubs and the Dublin team."

Richie (pictured) has selected five Ballyboden players on his Dub All-Stars first xv -- Síle Nic Coitir, Maeve Gaynor, Joanne O'Sullivan, Ciara Lucey and Emer Lucey.

The Boden Grand Slam boss has also included performers of the calibre of Louise O'Hara, Amy Murphy and Aine Fanning.

Nic Coitir will keep the kitchen tidy, while O'Sullivan is sure to deliver another command performance at centre half-back.

You won't find a better midfield partnership than O'Hara and Ciara Lucey, All-Stars both.

O'Hara's skill and guile is in the master class, while Lucey can find the flag from the deepest bunker.

In attack, Murphy has emerged as one of the top prospects in the country. She is such an exciting talent.

Helping Denis make the calls on the sidelines will be his trusty Boden Braves, Mick Glynn, Conor Sheehan, Bernard Curtis and Nuala O'Sullivan.

On paper, the two squads give Dublin camogie much to be cheerful about.

OZO 2010 Dub Camogie All-Stars: S Níc Coitir (Ballyboden St Enda's); A Murphy (St Jude's), L O'Connell (Regional team/St Brigid's), M Gaynor (Ballyboden St Enda's); G Quinn (Regional team/St Patrick's, Palmerstown), J O'Sullivan (Ballyboden St Enda's), T Corrigan (St Jude's); L O'Hara (Erin's Isle), C Lucey (Ballyboden St Enda's); C Durkin (Regional team/Skerries Harps), A Murphy (Regional team/St Mark's), E Reid (Good Counsel); E Lucey (Ballyboden St Enda's), A Fanning (St Vincent's), A Kelly (St Jude's). Subs: C Coady (St Brigid's), L Crennan (St Jude's), J Cooper (Na Fianna), A McCluskey (Erin's Isle), C Canning (St Vincent's).