| -0.7°C Dublin

Superb Syls impress in 'D' decider

St Sylvester's B led from start to finish to comprehensively account for Na Fianna B by 3-12 to 1-3 in their Dublin Under 16 'D' Football Championship final at Parnell Park last Saturday morning.

The Malahide outfit seized control from the outset against a Na Fianna team that failed to play to its potential over the hour.

The Glasnevin side were well on top in terms of possession early on but a series of wides undermined their challenge before St Sylvester's were handed a massive boost when Brain Murray's '45' deceived the Na Fianna rearguard to fall into the net.

A couple of frees from Ciarán McHugh ensured Na Fianna gained some reward for their efforts but the concession of a second goal to Aaron McCormack left Syls enjoying a 2-4 to 0-3 lead at the interval.

Na Fianna continued to battle after the break with their midfield pairing of Stephen Foley and Seán Whelan striving tirelessly to wrest the initiative from their direct opponents while wing-back Paul Twomey was another player to feature prominently for the Mobhi Road team.

However, their efforts proved in vain against a Syls defence in which their full-back line of Ruairi Nichol, Harry Barnes and Rian McCarthy excelled while captain Barry Crosse led the team superbly through word and deed.

A Gareth O'Brien goal effectively settled the issue early in the second-half with Sylvester's adding to their tally through valuable attacking contributions from Murray, Adam Gaynor, Luke Gibson, Colm Bride and substitute David McCormack, who chipped in with 0-3 upon his introduction.

"It was a lot tighter than the final scoreline would suggest," said Syls manager John Crosse.

"The lads put in a very good performance in Parnell Park, which was very pleasing and it's just unfortunate that our A's were unable to win their shield final," said Crosse, who trains the team alongside Ciaran O'Brien, Brian Barnes, Paddy Miskelly and Declan Lynch with Paul Reinhardt having taken a year our after years involved with the team.

St Sylvester's B: R Holmes, R Nichol, H Barnes, R McCarthy, B Crosse, N Mahon, J O'Connor, B Murray, M Canny, A Gaynor, L Gibson, C bride, A McCormack, J Haughey, G O'Brien, C O'Sullivan, D McCormack, L Shalloe, S Murphy, S Lonergan, J Shannon, A Cox.

Na Fianna B: G Healy, E McKenna, P Smith, C Guinan, P Twomey, B Harten, T Potter, S Foley, S Whelan, R Fahey, O O'Connell, S Fraughen, D Keane, C McHugh, C O'Sullivan, C Brennan, M Sweeney, C McFhinn, P Coyle, J O'Reilly, S Butler Brennan.