| 10.4°C Dublin

Shefflin scoops hurler of year

HENRY Shefflin last night collected an 11th All Star award on the evening he was crowned Hurler of the Year for the third time ... although Brian Cody's Kilkenny men were outflanked by Leinster champions and beaten All-Ireland finalists Galway, who picked up six awards to the Cats five.

Notably, there is no spot for Tommy Walsh for the first time since 2002, breaking his record of winning an All Star in nine consecutive years, with Clare's Brendan Bugler and David Collins of Galway preferred in the wing-back spots either side of Brian Hogan.

Waterford pair Kevin Moran and John Mullane are named at midfield and corner-forward respectively while the only other non-All-Ireland final participant in the team is Cork goalkeeper, Anthony Nash.

Galway's Johnny Coen was named Young Hurler of the Year.

In the big ball stakes, Donegal defender Karl Lacey was named Footballer of the Year, ahead of team-mates Colm McFadden and Frank McGlynn, while Mayo's Cillian O'Connor was awarded the Young Footballer of the Year gong for the second successive year.