| 7°C Dublin

Ryan proves the difference as Boden's B specials gun down Plunkett's

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA'S . . . . . . . . . . 1-8

ST OLIVER PLUNKETT'S/ER . . . . . . . . 0-8

Ballyboden St Enda's produced a composed final-quarter display in accounting for a determined St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh by three points in their Evening Herald Dublin Senior 'B' Hurling Championship final at O'Toole Park on Saturday afternoon.

That the result was in doubt up until the final whistle was testimony to the battling qualities of both sides.

The game's pivotal score arrived in first half injury-time when Niall Ryan flashed an impeccable finish beyond Joseph McDonnell following a trademark run by Maurice Nagle.

Plunkett's recovered sufficiently to restore parity by the 40th minute, but a cuter St Enda's finished in the ascendancy with substitutes Colin Durkin and the classy Brian McCarthy making valuable contributions for the winners.

After Mick Griffin opened Boden's account through a second-minute free, Plunkett's levelled matters through Stuart Mullen's free and began to dominate through their imposing half-back line of Aidan Baird, Patrick Bergin and Patrick Curtin.

They deservedly opened up a three-point lead by the end of the first quarter through scores from Niall Murray, Curtin and towering full-forward Kevin Sexton, but that reflected a poor return given the plentiful possession they had enjoyed.

St Enda's, while not especially economical in front of goal themselves, hit three unanswered points through Ryan, Naoise Greene and Griffin.


And although substitute Oisin Boland restored Plunkett's advantage, Ryan's stunning strike on the whistle gave added impetus to the Boden challenge.

With scores at a premium upon the restart, successive points from Sexton and midfielder Conor McDonnell restored parity by the 40th minute, and although the intensity was appreciated by a large crowd assembled in Kimmage, there was a general lack of precision to much of the play.

With Eoin Small, Conor Robinson and Martin Kenny beginning to mop up defensively to telling effect, St Enda's finally began to threaten at the opposite end with quickfire points from Gavin Corrigan and Finn McGarry handing Boden a crucial two-point lead.

Cian Boland replied for Plunkett's but late scores from Durkin and McCarthy appeared to give the Firhouse Road men a sufficient cushion with Shane O'Connor going agonisingly close to forcing extra-time with a close-range effort in the dying seconds.

Scorers - Ballyboden St Enda's: N Ryan 1-1; M Griffin 0-2 (2f); N Greene, G Corrigan, F McGarry, C Durkin, B McCarthy 0-1 each. St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh: K Sexton 0-2; S Mullen (f), P Curtin, O Boland, N Murray, C McDonnell, C Boland 0-1 each.

Ballyboden St Enda's: C Dooley; J Duffy, E Walsh, E Small; P McEvoy, M Kenny, C Robinson; F McGarry, N Maguire; M Griffin, M Nagle, A Germyn; N Greene, G Corrigan, N Ryan. Subs: P Doherty for Griffin (31), C Durkin for Germyn (43), B McCarthy for Maguire (48), B Treacy for Corrigan (54).

St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh: J McDonnell; J Smith, D Brennan, E Boland; A Baird, P Bergin, P Curtin; F Dunleavey, C McDonnell; S Mullen, N Murray, S Bonfil; L Corbett, K Sexton, D Creighton. Subs: O Boland for Corbett (20), M Jordan for Smith (25), C Boland for Creighton (half-time), S O'Connor for Murray (37), K Fitzsimons for Dunleavey (51).

Referee: James Brennan (Thomas Davis)

Kilmacud Crokes took a giant step towards preserving their Dublin Adult Hurling League Division 2 status following an emphatic 3-20 to 1-7 victory over an under-strength Naomh Fionnbarra in the Bogies last Saturday afternoon. With the visitors in desperate need of the two points to stave off relegation, they produced one of their best performances of the campaign with two goals from full-forward Terry McAllister pivotal in their 19-point win.

Dublin minors Caolan Conway and Robert Murphy gave mature displays for Kilmacud and there were other impressive outings from Eddie O'Byrne, Conor Sheehan and Shane McNicholas, who coped well with Finbarrs' talisman Eamonn Dillon.

The scoring honours were shared by McAllister and Alex Pilkington, who in addition to registering 0-6 from placed balls also chipped in with five points from play, while wing-forward Barra Ó Leidhin was another attacker to impress.