| 12.5°C Dublin

Rebels claim first victory of year over the Kingdom

CORK footballers claimed bragging rights and their first silverware of the season with a 1-11 to 0-10 victory over Kerry in the McGrath Cup final at Mallow yesterday.

John Hayes scored the vital second half goal that set Brian Cuthbert's side on their way after Kerry had led by 0-5 to 0-4 at the break, with Daniel Goulding on target from the placed ball to secure the spoils for the Rebels.

In Ulster, Cavan and Tyrone will face-off on Saturday in the McKenna Cup final at Brewster Park after semi-final wins over Monaghan and Derry respectively.

Terry Hyland's side overcame local rivals Monaghan by 0-16 to 1-9 at Enniskillen, while Tyrone kept their unbeaten start to 2014 intact with a 2-13 to 1-13 win over Derry in Omagh.

In Munster, All-Ireland hurling champions Clare proved too strong for Limerick at Sixmilebridge as they got their season off to a winning start with a 1-14 to 0-11 win.

Patrick O'Connor was the only member of their All-Ireland winning team to start, but Davy Fitzgerald's side had an early goal from David Reidy.

They led 1-9 to 0-6 at the break and maintained that advantage in the second half, with rising star Bobby Duggan finishing with a personal tally of 0-12.

The Banner will have home advantage in this weekend's semi-final against UCC after the Fitzgibbon Cup holders cruised to a 3-28 to 2-14 victory over Mary Immaculate College.


McGrath Cup final

Kerry 0-10 Cork 1-11

O'Byrne Cup semi-finals

Kildare 5-17 UCD 2-11

Meath 4-18 DCU 3-6

McKenna Cup semi-finals

Cavan 0-16 Monaghan 1-9

Tyrone 2-13 Derry 1-13

Connacht FBD FL

Galway 0-13 GMIT 0-6

IT Sligo 1-13 NUIG 0-8

Leitrim 1-12 Sligo 2-9

Roscommon 1-10 Mayo 1-8

Walsh Cup quarter-finals

Kilkenny 5-23 DIT 1-8

Offaly 1-13 Galway 1-14

Waterford Crystal Cup


Kerry 0-8 Tipperary 2-16

Clare 1-14 Limerick 0-11

UCC 3-28 Mary Imm 2-14

WIT 1-20 UL 3-20

Kehoe Cup prel round

Meath 5-30 St Patrick's 1-7

Kildare 3-26 Roscommon 0-6

Louth 1-9 GMIT 4-22

DCU 2-12 Derry 3-12

Trinity 0-12 Armagh 0-11

Wicklow 3-18 Mayo 3-11

Fingal 5-19 Longford 0-13