| 16.8°C Dublin

Raheny win epic contest


ST MAUR'S 1-12

(After Extra-Time)

THE umpires had the wet gear on. It was a night for the long shift and the long stud in Parnell Park.

There was a clash of colours. Maur's wore the jerseys of their North county neighbours, Clann Mhuire.

The first instalment was a Rolestown rocker, and this replay lived up to the billing – they were level; at the break, 1-4 to Maur's and 0-7 to Raheny. And again at the end of normal time – 1-11 to Maur's and 0-14 to Raheny.

The goal came in the 22nd minute. Barry Horgan sped down the right at the score-board end like the Rush express and planted the ball in the far corner.

Maur's might have struck for a earlier goal when Cathal Sweetman, cutting in on the left, cracked in a shot but the Raheny 'keeper, John O'Donoghue, stood tall.


Like in the original contest, Raheny began with a sprint. They led by five points to one after 13 minutes. Midway through the half, David Henry treated the audience to a charming slice of skill as he flicked the ball up off the wet turf and slipped his way out of the traffic.

Five times the sides were tied in the second period. Raheny fans thought they had won it when Donal Ryan pointed on the hour, but two minutes into injury time, Chris Carthy's free took the contest to extra-time.

The lights came on. And they were still level at half-time in extra-time – 1-12 to 0-15. But strikes from Ger Coady and CJ Heapes sent Raheny through.

SCORERS – Naomh Maur: C Carthy 0-5 (4f), B Horgan 1-0, M McGrath, C Reddin 0-2 each, M O'Brien, M O'Reilly, C Sweetman 0-1 each. Raheny: G Ivory 0-6 (4f), D Ryan 0-3, M Victory 0-2 (f, 45), P Reid, E Keogh, D O'Brien, G Coady, C Murphy, CJ Heapes 0-1 each.

NAOMH MAUR: M Butterly; P Butterly, O McGinty, M O'Brien; D McGuinness, L Fletcher, D O'Donnell; M O'Reilly, D Carrick; C Carthy, M McGrath, C Reddin; B Horgan, C McGuire, C Sweetman. Subs: B Cronin for McGrath (56); R McGinty for O'Reilly (inj, 78).

RAHENY: J O'Donoghue; P McCabe, D Pelly, D O'Brien; D Henry, E Keogh, G Coady; M Victory, P O'Higgins; Sean Swords, P Reid, Stephen Swords; D Ryan, S Collins, G Ivory. Subs: S Harkin for McCabe (44); C Murphy for Stephen Swords; CJ Heapes for Victory (69);

REFEREE: J King (Garda)