| 4.6°C Dublin

Plunkett's clinch final berth after 'Boden win

St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh advanced to the final of the Dublin Minor 'C' Football Championship following their hard-earned 2-11 to 2-7 victory over Ballyboden St Enda's at Martin Savage Park last Sunday.

Seven points from Seán Bugler, including four from placed balls, was a massive contribution for the hosts for whom corner-back Conor Stone delivered an inspirational performance as captain.

Having trailed by a point at the break, Plunkett's took advantage of the wind at their backs upon the restart and moved the ball well to create sufficient chances to see out the win.

A Conor Breslin goal in the first-half allowed the hosts to not lose touch against a battling Boden outfit that benefited from strong defensive displays by Cian Murray, Liam Mullen, Oisin Tobin and Oisin Carolan.

Liam Flaherty and Ross McGrath were the pick of the visitors attack but after Sean Newman had netted for the hosts after the break, Plunkett's drove on through scores from Bugler, Ryan Carrick and Brian McDonnell.

The roving Peter Maher gained a wealth of primary possession around the middle third and with Aaron Carey to the fore, Plunkett's confirmed their final berth with goalkeeper Seán Hawkins making some exceptional saves to preserve his side's advantage.

There was another home win in the quarter-final at Páirc Mearnóg as Naomh Mearnóg came back from an unenviable position to overcome Na Fianna by 0-17 to 2-8.

The hosts look dead and buried as they trailed by 1-6 to 0-3 at half-time and with the visitors building on that lead early in the second-half, the situation looked drastic for the Portmarnock lads.

However, an inspirational point by midfielder Ciarán Carey held turn the tide in Mearnóg's favour as they racked up a glut of scores through the excellent Killian O'Driscoll, Matthew Shortall, Carey and Shane Warren.

Goals from Shane Barrett and the lively Andy Flannery had handed Na Fianna the early initiative and they built on those scores through fine displays by Seán Baxker, Jonno Treacy and Michael Gaffney but their efforts proved in vain with Cian O'Daly, Aodhán Fee, Ian garry and Shane Nagle impressing for Mearnóg.