| 12.6°C Dublin

Parnell’s victory would cause Cluxton Rules dilemma

PARNELL'S duo Stephen Cluxton and Colm Begley have been named in Anthony Tohill's preliminary International Rules squad to take on Australia later this month - although they may yet find themselves in a club v country tug of war.

All-Ireland final hero Cluxton is Dublin's sole representative on the 31-man selection while Begley is joined by Carlton recruit and Laois native, Zach Touhy, yet their participation in the two-game series is still dependent on Parnell's run in the Dublin SFC.

The Coolock side face St Sylvester's in the fourth round on Sunday, October 16 (Lawless Park, Swords, 3.45) when a victory would see them through to the last-eight and run beyond the departure of the Irish panel on October 22.

Tohill will finalise his selection next Tuesday, with a list of back-up players at his disposal ready to step in for those who might miss out.

In total, 15 counties are represented, the squad also includes four players plying their trade Down Under, in Tadhg Kennelly, Pearse Hanley, Michael Quinn and Chrissy McKaigue as Tohill sticks tightly to his policy of picking players with experience in both games. Former Collingwood recruit, Down’s star forward Marty Clarke, was ruled out through injury.

Ireland face Australia in the first test in the Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on October 28, with the series concluding at the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast on November 4.

Ireland International Rules Preliminary Panel: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Rob Kelly (Kildare), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Colm Begley (Laois), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Karl Lacey (Donegal), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Steven McDonnell (Armagh), Ciarán McKeever (Armagh), Danny Hughes (Down), Kevin McKernan (Down), Joe McMahon (Tyrone), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Finian Hanley (Galway), Donal Vaughan (Mayo), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Aidan Walsh (Cork), Patrick Kelly (Cork), Tomas O'Connor (Kildare), Eamon Callaghan (Kildare), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry), Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda), Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans), Zach Touhy (Laois/Carlton), Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans), Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions).