| -2°C Dublin

O'Neill's late goal nicks win for St Vincent's

A LAST-GASP goal from wing-back Shane O'Neill helped St Vincent's record their first league win of the year when overcoming Ballyboden St Enda's by 1-15 to 1-14 in their Dublin Adult Hurling League Division 1 encounter at Páirc Uí Mhurchú yesterday morning.

O'Neill shone throughout for the visitors alongside goalkeeper Declan Manning and Ronan Drumgoole while in attack John Hetherton, Tomás Connolly and Tomás McGrane shared thirteen points of their side's tally.

At Tymon Park, Paul Aylward produced a dominant display from full-back when helping St Jude's maintain their unbeaten start with a deserved 2-16 to 0-14 win over Craobh Chiaráin.

Ronan Joyce and Eoin McLaughlin were others to impress for the hosts who confirmed their win through goals by Fionn Ó Riain Broin and a scrambled effort by Tom Devlin.

The battle of the promoted clubs ended in stalemate with Matthew McCaffrey, Mick May and Kevin O'Reilly to the fore as Lucan Sarsfields drew with Ballinteer St John's at the 12th Lock on a 0-18 apiece scoreline.

St John's never trailed over the hour with Aodhán Clabby, Donal Gormley and James Gilligan among their scorers while Cormac O'Brien, Fionán Clabby and full-back Frank O'Donoghue were the pick of the away defence.

In AHL2, St Brigid's maintained their perfect start as they proved far too strong for near neighbours Naomh Fionnbarra, winning by 1-26 to 0-6 at Russell Park.

Aodán McInerney and Conor Morris had hugely influential games for the hosts.

And an excellent attacking display saw St Brigid's coast to victory with Daire Doyle, Ciaran Dolan and Pat Rohan all in lively form for the winners.

AHL1: Ballyboden St Enda's 1-14 St Vincent's 1-15; Lucan Sarsfields 0-18 Ballinteer St John's 0-18; St Patrick's, Palmerstown 0-12 Na Fianna 2-13; Faughs 2-10 Cuala 1-20; St Jude's 2-16 Craobh Chiaráin 0-14; Kilmacud Crokes 3-14 O'Toole's 0-11.

AHL2: Kilmacud Crokes 4-11 Nh Mearnóg 1-13; St Brigid's 1-26 Nh Fionnbarra 0-6; Parnells 3-10 Ballyboden St Enda's 1-13; Erin's Isle 1-12 Whitehall Colmcille 2-13; Raheny 0-15 Crumlin 1-15; St Oliver Plunkett's/ER 2-17 Setanta 3-8.