| 13.6°C Dublin

'O'Neill is ideal for captaincy': Walsh

SHANE O'NEILL has succeeded Kieran 'Fraggy' Murphy as Cork hurling captain.

The Bishopstown defender, who will turn 25 in early March, was appointed Rebel captain last night with Cork senior hurling boss Denis Walsh describing him as the "ideal choice".

"When we came in 15 months ago, it was always our aim that Shane would be the captain this year," said Walsh.

"I think Kieran (Murphy) did a great job last year and he was well respected in all sectors. He was fully aware of the situation that he'd be the captain for one year and then Shane would take the role. Kieran is happy now to focus on one role for the coming year.


"Being vice-captain, Shane has had a chance to look at what's required and is ready for it now.

"I think he's the ideal choice for the role and there was no reason to deviate from the original plan.

"He's certainly seen by both ourselves and the greater public as one of the leading lights in Cork hurling. The same goes for Eoin (Cadogan, named vice-captain) and both of them have developed really well over the last couple of seasons.

"But we'd like to think that we have a lot of leaders in our team and this isn't about putting undue pressure on the lads."




Brewster Park: UUJ v Fermanagh, 7.0, P Hughes (Armagh)

Breffni Park (3G pitch): Queen's v Cavan, 7.0, E McHugh

Newry: St Mary's v Down, 7.0, D Helferty



(extra-time if necessary)

Cusack Park, Mullingar: Westmeath v Dublin, 2.0, F Kelly (Longford)

Wexford Park, Wexford: Wexford v DIT, 2.0, F Barry (Kildare)

Newbridge: Kildare v Longford, 2.0, N Ward (Westmeath)

Tullamore: Offaly v DCU, 2.0, D Gough (Meath)

Páirc Tailteann, Navan: Meath v UCD, 2.0, P Kneel (Louth)

Dr Cullen Park, Carlow: Carlow v Kilkenny, 2.0, B Hickey (Kildare)

Drogheda: Louth v Athlone IT, 2.0, G McCormack (Dublin)

O'Moore Park, Portlaoise: Laois v Wicklow, 2.0, J Curley (Meath)


(extra-time if necessary)

Nh Mearnóg, Portmarnock: Fingal v Trinity College, 2.0, K Brady (Louth)


(extra-time if necessary)

Páirc Uí Rinn: Cork v WIT, 2.0, B Tyrrell (Tipperary)

Austin Stack Park, Tralee: Kerry v IT Tralee, 2.0, R Maloney (Limerick)

Cooraclare: Clare v UCC, 2.0, P O'Sullivan (Cork).

Seán Treacy Park, Tipperary: Tipperary v UL, 2.0.


Omagh: Tyrone v Donegal, 2.0, J McQuillan (Cavan)

Celtic Park: Derry v Monaghan, 2.0, J White (Donegal)

Crossmaglen: Armagh v Antrim, 2.0,


Ballinamore: Leitrim v Mayo, 2.0

Ballyforan: Roscommon v GMIT, 2.0

Dangan: NUIG v IT Sligo, 2.0

Enniscrone: Sligo v Galway, 2.0