| 5.7°C Dublin

Offaly end four-year wait for elusive win

Nigel Dunne blasted eight points in the absence of Niall McNamee as Offaly bridged a four-year gap for a championship win at Fraher Field on Saturday.

Pat Flanagan's side outgunned their hosts by 1-11 to 0-2 in the second period to advance confidently to round two on a 1-20 to 1-7 scoreline. Ten different scorers contributed for the runaway winners.

Scorers: Waterford - J Veale 1-1, M Ferncombe 0-2, P Hurney, JJ Hutchinson, L Lawlor, T Prendergast 0-1 each. Offaly - N Dunne 0-8 (4fs), A Sullivan 1-1, G Guilfoyle 0-3, B Allen 0-2, E Carroll, W Mulhall, J Moloney, J O'Connor, C McNamee, P Cunningham 0-1 each.

Cavan summoned a dynamic display when cruising to an emphatic 2-22 to 0-11 win over London at Ruislip.

Inspired by Tomas Corr and Gearoid McKiernan Cavan dominated against the typically spirited, but outclassed Exiles.

In the 11 minutes of additional time London had Cathal Og Greene sent off for a second bookable offence as Cavan advanced with the minimum of fuss.

Scorers: Cavan - G McKiernan 1-6, D McVeety 1-2, N McDermott 0-5 (2fs), T Corr 0-3, N Murray 0-1, E Reilly 0-1, C Mackey 0-1, M McKeever 0-1, M Reilly 0-1 (f), R Galligan 0-1 (45). London - L Mulvey 0-6 (4fs), A O'Hara 0-3 (1f), D McGreevy 0-1, L Gavigan 0-1.

Jack Sheedy's Longford got their championship back on track after their mauling at the hands of Dublin with a 2-15 to 1-8 victory over Carlow.

Mickey Quinn dictated at midfield while the inside forward line of Brian Kavanagh and Liam Connerton settled any early match day jitters with three points.

Scorers: Longford - B Kavana gh 0-7 (6f), D Reynolds 1-1, L Connerton 1-2, D Masterson 0-2, M Quinn, F Battrim, R McEntire 0-1 each. Carlow - B Brick, S Gannon, G Power, M Meaney, D St Ledger 0-1 each.