| 14.4°C Dublin

Nine of Daly's Dubs in frame

DUBLIN have received a total of nine GAA GPA All-Star nominations after their Leinster title winning season, one less than their 2011 tally, and the same number as beaten All-Ireland finalists, Cork.

Gary Maguire, the 2011 All Star goalkeeper, is one of three netminders up for the gong, alongside final custodians, Pa Kelly (Clare) and Anthony Nash (Cork).

Peter Kelly – considered unlucky to miss out two years ago – is one of nine shortlisted for the full-back line while both Liam Rushe - strongly tipped to collect his second award - and Michael Carton are among the nominees across the half-backs.

Joey Boland has been nominated for a second time, this time in midfield, while Dublin also have four contenders among the forwards.

Danny Sutcliffe, the only Dublin player to be nominated last year, and Conal Keaney are both among the hopefuls in the half-forward line while both 'Dotsy' O'Callaghan and Paul Ryan are included in the nine possibles in the inside division.

Naturally, the list is flooded with Clare players, with the All-Ireland champions receiving 13 nominations.

Limerick, who this year were crowned Munster champions for the first time in 17 years, have seven in the running.

Last year's All-Ireland champions Kilkenny have just four players listed and are unlikely to pick up an All Star, the first time that has happened since 1996 while Tipperary suffered a whitewash, granted not a single nominee on the 45-strong list.

With Anthony Nash certain to pick up the goalkeeper's jersey and intense competition in midfield and the forwards, Rushe and Kelly appear to be Dublin's best hopes of securing awards this year. Kelly, however, is up against Clare's drawn final hero Domhnall O'Donovan as well as Young Hurler of the Year nominee David McInerney, Cork's Shane O'Neill and Richie McCarthy – widely heralded as Limerick's best chance of winning an All-Star.

Rushe, though, looks a strong possiblity in the half-back line, particularly after Conor Ryan – one of Clare's standout performers in the drawn game from centre-back – was listed amongst the midfield hopefuls.

Both Tony Kelly and Seamus Harnedy are considered nailed-on in the half-forward line, meaning Sutcliffe, Keaney and Colin Ryan will battle it out for the final spot with the St Jude's man arguably the most likely.

Two of Clare's heroes; Tony Kelly and Podge Collins, are nominated for both the Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year awards, with Nash the third in the running for the former gong and Banner full-back, David McInerney rounding off the list for the latter.

Both of those awards will be decided by a vote of players. The final selection will be made on Wednesday, November 6 before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park. The GAA GPA All-Star football nominations, sponsored by Opel, will be announced tomorrow.


GOALKEEPERS: Anthony Nash (Cork), Patrick Kelly (Clare), Gary Maguire (Dublin).

FULL-BACKS: David McInerney (Clare), Domhnall O'Donovan (Clare), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Tom Condon (Limerick), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Shane O'Neill (Cork), Conor O'Sullivan (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Tomás Waters (Wexford).

HALF-BACKS: Brendan Bugler (Clare), Patrick Donnellan (Clare), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Michael Carton (Dublin), Brian Murphy (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick), Gavin O'Mahony (Limerick), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

MIDFIELD: Conor Ryan (Clare), Colm Galvin (Clare), Joey Boland (Dublin), Paul Browne (Limerick), Daniel Kearney (Cork), Kevin Moran (Waterford).

HALF-FORWARDS: Tony Kelly (Clare), John Conlon (Clare), Colin Ryan (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Patrick Cronin (Cork), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin), James Ryan (Limerick), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny).

FULL-FORWARDS: Pádraic Collins (Clare), Conor McGrath (Clare), Shane O'Donnell (Clare), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor Lehane (Cork), Paul Ryan (Dublin), David O'Callaghan (Dublin), Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny).

NOMINEES FOR PLAYER OF YEAR: Tony Kelly (Clare), Anthony Nash (Cork), Pádraic Collins (Clare).

NOMINEES FOR YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tony Kelly (Clare), David McInerney (Clare), Pádraic Collins (Clare).

COUNTY-BY-COUNTY BREAKDOWN: Clare (13), Cork (9), Dublin (9), Limerick (7), Kilkenny (4), Waterford (2), Wexford (1).