| 11.3°C Dublin

Murphy steps into the defensive breach as Cody names inexperienced Kilkenny side

nhl team news

PAUL Murphy has been handed the Kilkenny number three jersey vacated by the retired JJ Delaney for tomorrow evening's League opener with Cork.

As expected, none of last year's All-Ireland winning forward line are present in Brian Cody's maiden selection of 2015 as the Cats boss deals with a raft of injury issues, although Hurler of the Year, Richie Hogan, is named at corner-forward, having spent last year in midfield.

Anthony Cunningham, meanwhile, has made three changes from the team that started against Dublin in Croke Park, with call-ups for John Hansbury, Iarla Tannian and Cathal Mannion at the expense of Johnny Coen, Eanna Burke and Brian Molloy.

Corner-back Hansbury and corner-forward Mannion were college-tied with NUIG for the Walsh Cup. Tannian made his comeback from injury for the final quarter against Dublin and now retains his place at midfield.

The team is notable for the infusion of youth provided by six of last year's U21 side: Hanbury, Padraig Brehony, Jonathan Glynn, Dean Higgins, Jason Flynn and Mannion.

KILKENNY (SH v Cork): E Murphy; T Keogh, P Murphy, J Tyrrell; B Kennedy, K Joyce, C Buckley; C Fogarty, L Ryan; P Walsh, W Walsh, M Ruth; M Kelly, J Farrell, R Hogan.

CORK (SH v Kilkenny): A Nash; D Cahalane, C Joyce, C O'Sullivan; C Murphy, M Ellis, A Walsh; D Kearney, P Cronin; S Harnedy, B Cooper, C Lehane; A Cadogan, P O'Sullivan, P Horgan.

GALWAY (SH v Clare): C Callanan; J Hanbury, F Moore, R Burke; G McInerney, D Collins, P Mannion; I Tannian, J Cooney; P Brehony, J Glynn, D Higgins; J Regan, J Flynn, CMannion.

WEXFORD (SH v Antrim): M Fanning; E Moore, T Waters, C Kenny; P Foley, L Chin, D Redmond; P Morris, G Sinnott; I Byrne, D Waters, D O'Keeffe; K Foley, J Guiney, L Og McGovern.

ANTRIM (SH v Wexford): C O'Connell; R McCambridge, N McAuley, A Graffin; T McCann, C McKinley, M Bradley; N McManus, C Johnson; P Shiels, D McKernan, C McCann; C Clarke, PJ O'Connell, E McCloskey.

LIMERICK (SH v Waterford): N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, S Hickey; D O'Grady, W McNamara, T Condon; C King, P Browne; D Hannon, G O'Mahony, C Lynch; D Reidy, D Breen, A Breen.