| 9°C Dublin

Munster war of words over venue

A WAR of words has erupted between the chairman of Limerick hurling champions Na Piarsaigh and Munster Council chairman Seán Walsh over the venue for the AIB Munster club SHC final.

Na Piarsaigh chief Timmy O’Connor has said he was “disappointed at the personal attack on me by Seán Walsh” in a newspaper report this week.

This follows the Limerick club’s refusal to toss a coin to decide the venue for last Sunday’s provincial decider against Crusheen – or for next Sunday’s replay, which duly returns to Semple Stadium.

The Munster Council has claimed the attendance last Sunday suffered as a consequence, with Walsh quoted earlier this week as saying: “Timmy O’Connor, their chairman, was the man who told us they wouldn’t agree, under any circumstances. We were left with no choice then but to go for a neutral venue. We spoke to Timmy O’Connor again today (Monday) and he is still adamant – Na Piarsaigh will not toss for choice of venue.”

But O’Connor has now issued a stinging retort. “We will look after our own affairs here in Na Piarsaigh and he should look after his in the Munster Council,” he declared.

“If Seán is so worried about the economic situation, then he and the Munster Council should look at the cost of tickets. I got more complaints in the last few days about the admission charge than I did about the game being played in Thurles. It was €20 at the gate and €3 for a match programme.

“I don’t think that the venue, Semple Stadium, was the chief reason for the small crowd.”

All-Ireland Club SFC quarter-final
(extra-time if necessary)
Ruislip: Fulham Irish (London) v St Brigid’s (Roscommon), 1.0, E Kinsella (Laois).

Leinster club SFC semi-finals
(extra-time if necessary)
Parnell Park:
St Brigid’s (Dublin) v Portlaoise (Laois), 2.0, C Reilly (Meath).

Newbridge: Athy (Kildare) v Garrycastle (Westmeath), 2.0, S Doyle (Wexford).

Leinster club IFC final
(extra-time if necessary)
Aughrim: Eire Og (Wicklow) v |Confey (Kildare), 2.0, D Gough (Meath).

Leinster club JFC
(extra-time if necessary)
Drogheda: St Fechin’s (Louth) v Ballivor (Meath), 2.0, B O’Shea (Dublin).

Munster club SFC final
Fitzgerald Stadium: Dr Crokes (Kerry) v UCC (Cork), 2.0, R Hickey (Clare).

Munster club SHC final replay (extra-time if necessary)
Semple Stadium:
Na Piarsaigh (Limerick) v Crusheen (Clare), 2.0, Cathal McAllister (Cork).