| 14.3°C Dublin

McCrabbe magic puts Mearnóg to the sword

ALAN McCRABBE highlighted his footballing prowess, with his three goals proving crucial as Craobh Chiaráin overcame a weakened Naomh Mearnóg by 4-11 to 0-9 in their Dublin Junior 'A' Football Championship preliminary round tie at Clonshaugh on Sunday morning.

Ben Travers, Seán Finnegan and Stephen McDonald all excelled defensively for the hosts and with Mark McGuirk sublime at centrefield, Craobh eased to victory thanks to McCrabbe's hat-trick and further scores by Gary Kelly and Warren Moore.

At Páirc Uí Mhurchú, a first-half goal from Paddy O'Connell helped Ballyboden St Enda's record an impressive 1-9 to 0-7 win over St Finian's, Newcastle.

A strong defensive display, epitomised by the efforts of Aaron O'Reilly, Andy Gardiner and Barry Everett set a solid foundation, while further up the field Kevin O'Reilly, Damien Kenny and Rory Jordan all played significant roles for Boden.

Two goals by Eric Finn helped Round Tower Clondalkin get the better of Raheny by 2-10 to 0-7 at St Anne's Park.

Seán O'Donegan and Cónán Ó Broin kept matters tight at the back for the visitors, allowing the likes of Finn, Damien Murray, Justin McGrane and substitute Aidan Lawlor to reflect Tower's overall dominance on the scoreboard.

There was better news for Raheny's neighbours Clontarf, who kicked the final five scores of the game to overtake a brave St Jude's by 0-16 to 1-12 after extra time.

Eoin Stanley, John Maguire and Stephen McGinn all featured prominently for the hosts, while those aforementioned points shared by David Mullins, Johnny Trainor, Colm McCaffrey and the impressive Brian Forde saw 'Tarf home by the narrowest of margins.

Extra-time was also required at Russell Park where St Brigid's prevailed by 1-8 to 0-10 over Innisfails while Cuala squeezed a 0-10 to 1-6 win over Templeogue Synge Street at Dolphin Park.


St Brigid's 1-8 Innisfails 0-10 (AET); Templeogue Synge Street 1-6 Cuala 0-10; Raheny 0-7 Round Towers Clondalkin 2-10; Craobh Chiaráin 4-11 Nh Mearnóg 0-9; Clontarf 0-16 St Jude's 1-12 (AET); Ballyboden St Enda's 1-9 St Finian's Newcastle 0-7; St Oliver Plunkett's/ER 0-13 St James' Gaels 0-2.