| 12°C Dublin

McCrabbe earns Chiaráin draw

CRAOBH Chiarain and St Vincent's shared the spoils.



Craobh Chiaráin and St Vincent's shared the spoils in their Dublin Senior Hurling Championship Group 1 tie at Parnell Park last night with Alan McCrabbe's 60th minute free earning Craobh a deserved draw.

St Vincent's assumed control from the opening whistle with a brace of scores by Cian McBride and other points from Frankie Power, John Hetherton and Tomás McGrane pushing the Marino men five points clear by the 12th minute. Tomás Connolly's superbly taken goal five minutes later looked to have left Craobh with a mountain to climb but they received a much-needed boost when Stephen McDonald availed of a defensive slip to fire home in the 19th minute and Francis Usanga's 30th minute goal ensured parity by the interval.

Usanga's two superb scores inched Chiaráin's narrowly ahead but with Power and Damien Russell inching Vinnies ahead, McCrabbe converted from under the terrace to leave an equitable result by the final whistle.

Scorers – Craobh Chiaráin: A McCrabbe 0-7 (5f), F Usanga 1-2, S McDonald 1-0, R Mahon 0-1. St Vincent's: T McGrane 0-5 (4f, 1 '65'), T Connolly 1-0, C McBride, F Power, J Hetherton (0-2 sideline) 0-2, D Garland, D Russell 0-1 each.

CRAOBH CHIARÁIN: S Chester; S Ennis, E Farrell, G Kelly; J Ryan, D Kelly, D O'Reilly; S McDonald, K Elliott; P O'Boyle, A McCrabbe, R Mahon; K McGowran, F Usanga, K Hetherton. Subs: C Poole for Ryan (29), S Kirwan for Elliott (41), S Kelly for McGowran (55). ST VINCENT'S: D Manning; R Drumgoole, W Lowry, R Trainor; F Power, C Billings, C Harney; J Hetherton, N Billings; C McBride, D Garland, M Chawke; T Connolly, T McGrane, A Moore. Subs: S O'Neill for Drumgoole (23), P Donnelly for O'Neill (35), D Russell for Moore (44). REF: D O'Donovan (St Mark's).