| 12.6°C Dublin

McCaffrey runs amok on the '40' as UCD set up a tasty last-four showdown with DCU


Iarla Tannian, Galway

Iarla Tannian, Galway

Conor Mulally, UCD

Conor Mulally, UCD


Iarla Tannian, Galway

UCD have set up a Sigerson Cup semi-final date with Dublin rivals DCU after overwhelming GMIT by 1-19 to 1-9 at Belfield yesterday.

Jack McCaffrey, stationed at centre-forward, ripped the western defence apart as UCD built up a 1-11 to 1-2 half-time lead. The jet-heeled Dub contributed 0-2 while playing a part in Mark Hughes' 14th minute goal, later cancelled out by Andy Glennon's effort.

Westmeath ace John Heslin and Kildare's Niall Kelly led the scoring onslaught, before a GMIT side missing their Corofin contingent rallied with six late points.

It was much closer in Limerick, where IT Carlow also progressed to the finals weekend with a famous 0-11 to 0-10 victory over UL. There was a lengthy stoppage near the end after a UL player suffered injury and had to be removed by ambulance, but Noel Garvan's Carlow charges held on when play resumed and they'll now face the winners of today's UCC/IT Sligo quarter-final.

Meanwhile, Galway may have landed the Walsh Cup with a depleted squad, but that hasn't stopped Anthony Cunningham from tinkering with his line-up for Sunday's NHL Division 1A showdown with Clare in Pearse Stadium.

The Galway boss has made three changes from the team that started against Dublin in Croke Park, with call-ups for John Hansbury, Iarla Tannian and Cathal Mannion at the expense of Johnny Coen, Eanna Burke and Brian Molloy.

Corner-back Hansbury and corner-forward Mannion were college-tied with NUIG for the Walsh Cup. Tannian made his comeback from injury for the final quarter against Dublin and now retains his place at midfield.

The team is notable for the infusion of youth provided by six of last year's U21 side: Hanbury, Padraig Brehony, Jonathan Glynn, Dean Higgins, Jason Flynn and Mannion.

GALWAY (SH v Clare): C Callanan; J Hanbury, F Moore, R Burke; G McInerney, D Collins, P Mannion; I Tannian, J Cooney; P Brehony, J Glynn, D Higgins; J Regan, J Flynn, C Mannion.


sigerson cup/nhl team news