| 16.1°C Dublin

Lawlor following in long Blue line of ex-presidents

AILEEN LAWLOR carries on a proud tradition of camogie presidents with blue blood in the veins.

The first was May Kennedy, the game's inaugural president in 1905. That wasn't today, or last week.

Before Aileen's elevation to high office on Saturday, Pat Rafferty was the last Dub in the cockpit.

Pat took over in millennium year. Like the person she followed, Phyllis Breslin, Pat was a star with Dublin and Eoghan Ruadh.

In 1991, Brídín Uí Mhaolagáin accepted the chain of office. She won five Ashbourne titles with UCD.

Agnes Purcell also secured Ashbourne Cup glory with UCD, and she also played for Limerick and Dublin. She was president in the 70s, as was Nell McCarthy.

In coaching circles, Nell was known as The Special One. She inspired Celtic and Dublin to much gold.

Eilish Redmond was a founder member of Celtic. She was also a Dublin selector. She got the big job in 1959.

And then there was the longest-serving president of all, Mollie Gill, the captain of Dublin and Leinster. She spent almost 20 years in the post, beginning in 1923.

The latest Dub in town is happy to say her innings will be considerably shorter!