| 3.4°C Dublin

Larriers blend youth with experience

dublin 'a' shc

Group 1: O'Toole's v St Brigid's

(Parnell Park, Tonight, 6.45)

Last season, Brigid's didn't make it out of the group that saw Faughs and the Larriers progress.

O'Toole's are never far from the frame. They have been eight-time champions. Last season they lost by a point to St Jude's in the semi-final, having overcome Lucan Sarsfields in the quarter-final. A dash of youth has enhanced the seasoned wisdom of Michael Carton and company. Brigid's boast one of the best goalkeepers in Ireland, Alan Nolan. And Daire Plunkett has the velvet touch.

VERDICT: O'Toole's

Group 1: C Chiarain v Na Fianna (Parnell Park, Tonight, 8.15)

Chiarains will be determined to start brightly here as O'Toole's and Brigid's are also in the group.

Na Fianna have Dublin's Shane Barrett. Last term the Glasnevin side didn't advance from a group that saw O'Toole's and Faughs prevail. Craobh are at their best when the Championship bell tolls. And one of their proudest sons, the mighty McGuirk, is managing the county minors.

VERDICT: Craobh Chiarain

Group 3: Crumlin v B'boden SE

(O'Toole Park, Tonight, 7.0)

A short journey for the famous Boden.

Six-time champs. The five-in-a-row team. Hogan's Invincibles. They last lifted the prize in 2013. They fell to Crokes in the semi-final last season.

Crumlin didn't make the knock-out stages last year, but have the gifted Ben Quinn. Boden have added the dazzling Dotsi to their roster.

VERDICT: Ballyboden St Enda's