| 8.1°C Dublin

Kerry drop Kieran Donaghy and Marc Ó Sé for All Ireland final


Marc Ó Sé

Marc Ó Sé

Marc Ó Sé

Kieran Donaghy and Marc Ó Sé have both been left out of the Kerry team named to start Sunday's All-Ireland SFC final.

In addition, last year's final Man of the Match, Paul Murphy, has been omitted from the XV announced by Kerry last night.

While the dropping of Donaghy - this year's Kerry captain - was somewhat expected given his semi-final performance against Tyrone and that of his half-time replacement, Paul Geaney, the defensive alterations both come as surprises.

Ó Sé, who was black carded after just 14 minutes in the Tyrone win, is understood to have been struggling with a hamstring injury.

And while there is speculation in Kerry that Murphy has struggled of late with a hip problem, Fitzmaurice gave no prior indication that either would be unavailable for the final.

In their stead, Aidan O'Mahony has been brought it at full-back while last year's All-Ireland winning captain, Fionn Fitzgerald, replaces Murphy.

Donaghy's absence from the first XV means that David Moran will take over the captaincy.

Dublin, meanwhile, will name their team tonight after training, with all eyes on whether Cian O'Sullivan is named in defence after his recent hamstring injury.

KERRY (SF v Dublin): B Kealy; F Fitzgerald, A O'Mahony, S Enright; J Lyne, P Crowley, K Young; A Maher, D Moran; S O'Brien, J Buckley, D Walsh; C Cooper, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.