| 16.7°C Dublin

Jackies insert Rowe as Cork need popping



(St Brendans Pk, Birr, Today, 2.15)

DUBLIN boss, Paul Gilheaney has gone with an unchanged team by naming the same starting 15 that captured the Leinster SFC title back in July for today's TG4 All-Ireland quarter final clash with Cork.

Gilheaney, however, has added talented Dublin minor, Carla Rowe to his senior panel ahead of this clash with the Rebels.

Rowe was Player of the Match in the All-Ireland minor final replay against Galway having scored an impressive 11 points from centre-forward in that ill-fated game.

Dublin reached the quarter final on the back of two wins in the Leinster championship firstly against Kildare in the semi-final when defeating the Lilywhites 3-17 to 1-12.


The Jackies then followed up that win with a commanding 3-14 to 0-09 performance against Meath in the provincial decider.

Cork's form has been somewhat below their usual high standard having lost to Kerry twice in the Munster championship.

However, having lost their Munster crown the reigning All-Ireland champions scraped past Armagh in the qualifiers – beating the Orchard County by a single point.

Cork boss, Eamonn Ryan has made one name change for today's clash in Birr and has also made a number of positional alterations from the side which started against Armagh.

Orlagh Farmer moves to the bench with Angela Walsh named at midfield where she will partner Juliet Murphy (who recently returned to action after announcing her retirement earlier in the season), Annie Walsh switches to the half forward line in place of Farmer.

Rena Buckley moves to centre-back with the O'Sullivan sisters, Doireann and Ciara, switching positions with Doireann taking up position in front of the small square and Ciara moving to the '40'.

Dublin v Cork, is live on TG4 at 2.15pm. It is preceded by the Kerry v Mayo quarter-final at 12.30. The Dublin v Cork All-Ireland U16FC final follows at 4pm.


DUBLIN: Cliodhna O'Connor, Rachel Ruddy, Siobhan McGrath, Leah Caffrey, Martha Byrne, Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Finnegan, Natalia Hyland, Orlagh Egan, Noelle Healy, Lindsay Peat, Sinead Aherne, Lyndsay Davey.

CORK: Martina O'Brien, Anne Marie Walsh, Brid Stack, Deirdre O'Reilly, Briege Corkery, Rena Buckley, Geraldine O'Flynn, Juliet Murphy, Angela Walsh, Nollaig Cleary, Ciara O'Sullivan, Annie Walsh, Valarie Mulcahy, Doireann O'Sullivan, Orla Finn.