| 16.8°C Dublin

Jack is king as Dublin win seven All Stars


Dublin footballer Jack McCaffrey

Dublin footballer Jack McCaffrey

Dublin footballer Jack McCaffrey

Jack McCaffrey has been crowned Footballer of the Year, rounding off the perfect 2015 for the jet-heeled Dub and his Sky Blue teammates.

Dublin's dominance of the inter-county landscape was reflected in the inclusion of seven players on this year's GAA/GPA All Stars football team, announced at last night's televised banquet in the capital.

The magnificent seven were Bernard Brogan (claiming his fourth All Star), Rory O'Carroll and Cian O'Sullivan (each winning their second) and four first-timer winners - McCaffrey, Philly McMahon, Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny. The other awards were shared by Kerry (four), Mayo (two), Tyrone and Monaghan (one each).

In a vote of GPA members, McCaffrey edged out fellow Dub nominees McMahon and Brogan to become only the second player (after Seán Cavanagh) to be named Footballer of the Year after previously winning Young Footballer of the Year.

As expected, Kilkenny's TJ Reid was voted Hurler of the Year. The young player awards went to Mayo footballer Diarmuid O'Connor and Waterford hurler Tadhg de Búrca.