| 7.5°C Dublin

Isle's are back in the big time after win over brave Barróg

Erin's Isle delivered an exceptional team performance as they narrowly overcame a battling Naomh Barróg by 1-10 to 0-9 in their Dublin Minor 'C' Hurling Championship Final in St David's last Sunday morning, writes Rónán Mac Lochlainn.

It was a great win for the Finglas lads, especially given that they look to be struggling to field a team earlier in the year and the manner in which they fought back from a slow start typified their battling qualities all through the year.

"It is a massive win for the club," said Isle's manager Stan Brennigan.

"We didn't think that we would have a hurling team this year so to go on and win the championship was great for everyone involved.

"They are a great bunch of lads and we need to build on this win as hurling has struggled a bit in the club over the past few years.

"So it's a positive to work on for next year," he added.

After Barróg had opened up brightly, a goal from Conor Donohue helped settle Isle's while Conor Cearney's excellence from frees ensured that the winners were allowed to stay in control of matters.


The Kilbarrack outfit enjoyed a fair degree of possession throughout this lively encounter but they struggled to make inroads against a superb defensive effort from their opponents.

Shane Gaffney, Jake Thornton, Craig O'Hara and Jordan Byrne all excelled in their primary defensive duties for the winners while midfielder Robbie McCabe worked tirelessly in the Isles engine room.

Barróg were largely reliant on Nathan Kidd for scores with the Kilbarrack lads hitting three points early on as Barróg started brightly.

Seadhna Ryan, Brian Dennis and Mark Byrne also found the target and four pointed frees by Kidd in the second half kept Sean Manton's charges in contention before Isle's landed the insurance score through Marc Morrison.

"Erin's Isle worked harder and closed us down better", was the assessment of Manton for whom the displays of Kidd, Ryan, Paul Tolan, Mark Fogarty, Seán Boland and Dennis offered some consolation despite the narrow defeat.

Erin's Isle: Jordan Byrne, Dylan Brannigan, Craig O'Hara, Conor Savage, Alex King, Kevin Spillane, Dylan Brien, Conor Cearney, Michael Donohue, Keith Mahon, Conor Donohue, Edward King, Robert McCabe, Marc Morrison, Adam O'Neill, Ciarán Whelan, Jake Thornton, Lorcan Finnegan, Liam Sheridan, Shane Gaffney, Cian Lawlor, Liam Sheridan, Dylan Grant, James Keoghan.

Naomh Barróg: Jake Garnett, Aaron O'Mahony, Michael Tolan, Seán Boland, Mark Fogarty, Conor Gibson, Tristan Aherne, George Bodor, Seadhna Ryan, Alex Cosgrave, Nathan Kidd, Conor Forbes, Brian Dennis, Mark Byrne, Cillian Costello, Paul Tolan, Carl Brady, Cian Williams, Cian Kellett, Brendan Wade, Aidan Carroll.