| 13.4°C Dublin

Hurley the hero as 'Haven retain title

Brian Hurley kicked 0-12 as Castlehaven retained their Cork SFC title with a 0-16 to 1-11 victory against Nemo Rangers in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The only goal of the match came from Rangers' Alex Cronin and the teams were tied at 1-9 to 0-12 before Castlehaven pulled away to claim back-to-back titles after last year's win over Duhallow.

In the Westmeath SFC final, St Loman's beat Tyrrellspass 1-16 to 0-15, with David Whelan (left) scoring the decisive goal for St Loman's.

Scotstown bridged a 20-year gap as they ran out easy winners of the Monaghan SFC with a 2-16 to 0-07 win over Clontibret at St Tiernach's Park.

They led by 0-10 to 0-05 at half-time and two fisted goals in the second-half from Shane Carey saw them run out 15-point winners.

A Kieran Comer penalty and Gary Sice goal helped Corofin regain the Galway SFC crown with a 2-13 to 0-7 victory over Salthill/Knocknacarra in Pearse Stadium.

In Cavan, unfancied Ballinagh pipped Cavan Gaels to the SFC title by a point winning 0-12 to 0-11 in Breffni Park.

Niall McDermott hit seven points to help Ballinagh win their first county crown.

Toulestrane saw off Tubbercurry 0-13 to 0-10 in the Sligo SFC final in Markievicz Park.