| 1.9°C Dublin

Headyhh Headyhh Headyhh

NOBODY is saying a word. The secret is safe.

The Dublin Hall of Fame winner will be announced on Friday, November 14th. And not a second before.

It will be among the highlights of the gala Friends of Dublin Celebration Night at The Red Cow Hotel.

"It's a night not to be missed," says FODH supremo, Michael O'Grady.

"It's a lovely occasion when Dubliin hurling people gather to honour players, mentors, officials and all those that have given so much to the game.

"It's getting more popular each year. Last year we almost had 400 people at the function.

"It's a chance to sit down with old friends and meet new ones and look back on the hurling year."

It's the tenth year of the event, and many awards have already been announced.

Alan O'Nolan has scooped the Hurler of the Year accolade. It's a reard for excellence and patience.

For so long, Alan has been understudy to Gary Maguire. This summer, Gary's injury lifted the latch on the door.

The St Brigid's man took his chance splendidly, making a cluster of names that also earned him an All-Star nomination.

Cuala's Colm Cronin also had a season to remember and he has been rewarded with the Young Hurler of the Year accolade.

Likewise, St Jude's had much to be proud of. They reached their first Dublin Senior Championship semi-final;. And they then went a step further.

They have been named the Senior Cluf of the Year. Crumlin have secured the Juvenile Club of the Year.

It reflects the outstanding work that keeps going at O'Toole Park and Pearse Park.

The Primary school went to Gaelscoil Eiscir Riada, Lucan, while the Post-Primary prize went to Scoil Aodhan, Whitehall.

Also being called to the podium will be the Laoch Gorm winners - David O'Callaghamn, Liam Rushe, Conal Keaney, Danny Sutcliffe, Alan Nolan, Shane Durkin and Alan Nolan.

Tickets have been going briskly. A few left. Ring Tom on 087-9783735.