| 13.2°C Dublin

Harte blends old and new for Tyrone

MICKEY HARTE has called up two players for their senior Tyrone debuts this weekend -- but the most notable feature of his first 2011 selection is the number of 'old' Red Hands included.

Such seasoned campaigners as Conor Gormley, Ryan McMenamin, Brian McGuigan and Stephen O'Neill are all set to face Donegal in Tyrone's McKenna Cup opener at Omagh on Sunday.

Other experienced perrformers like Davy Harte, Seán Cavanagh (restored to old midfield haunt) and Martin Penrose are also named in the first 15.

Harte hands debuts to 2008 All-Ireland minor winner Ciarán Gervin and Aidan McCrory, while Aidan Cassidy returns to midfield after missing the most of last year through injury.

Martin Sludden will take charge of his first inter-county game since being attacked at the end of last year's Leinster football final when Armagh play Antrim in the Dr McKenna Cup at Crossmaglen on Sunday.

WESTMEATH have delayed announcing a team for Sunday's O'Byrne Cup opener against Dublin in Mullingar.

CROKE PARK Stadium Director Peter McKenna has admitted he is not opposed to a call from Limerick to take down the security fencing on Hill 16, but believes it is too premature.

STEVEN McDONNELL will continue as Armagh skipper for a second season, with Ciarán McKeever retaining his role as vice-captain.

TYRONE (SF v Donegal): J Curran; A McCrory, C McCarron, D Carlin; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; A Cassidy, S Cavanagh; C Cavanagh, B McGuigan, C Gervin; M Penrose, S O'Neill, M Donnelly.