| 4.2°C Dublin

Goalfest leaves Raheny boys caught between a 'Rock and a hard place



Blackrock College claimed the Dublin Schools Junior Hurling Competition Shield thanks to a late second-half surge against a depleted St Paul's College.

The southsiders went in 1-3 to a solitary point down at half time, but after a sloppy opening half they regathered their energies and stuck the ball in the net five times in a resurgent performance.

The first half was a fractious display and saw three players sent to the line. St Paul's hurled well and were worth their lead at the break. David Concarr impressed and opened the scoring, before Robert Diffley fed Jake Sherlock who found the net.

Diffley and Concarr added points as a frustrating half for 'Rock was summed up when Neil Gorey had a penalty saved by Brian McDonnell.

But Gorey did find his range before the break as his side went in five points down at the break.

The match improved after the break, as Ryan Murphy sent over a fine point for the Williamstown boys to give them a surge in confidence.

The nets at both ends were bulging throughout the second half as Gorey struck two fine goals, as did Ryan Conlon for Blackrock.

At the other end, Concarr who nabbed a double for the Raheny boys, while Gani Keane added another.

Jonathan O'Leary scored a definitive goal for Blackrock, while Gorey and Conlon added points as they had too much in the tank in the end.

Scorers -- Blackrock College: Neil Gorey 2-2, Ryan Conlon 2-1, Jonathan O'Leary 1-0, Michael O'Dwyer 0-2, Ryan Murphy 0-1. St Paul's College: David Concarr 2-2, Gani Keane, Jack Sherlock 1-0 each, Alan Hetherton, Robert Diffley 0-1 each.

BLACKROCK COLLEGE: Jonathan O'Leary; Dave Fortune, Ryan Murphy, Tom Duke; Cormac Fenton, Mark McCallion; Sean Coughlan, Michael O'Dwyer; Neil Gorey, Graham Hayes, Vinóg Leavy, Niall Sweeney, Ryan Conlon. Subs: Ross Ryan, Ian Kinsley, Charlie Rock, Conal Mulumby, Stephen O'Hurley, Patrick O'Donoghue, Cathal McGee, Tristan Brady, Daire Brady, David Mulcase, Sean Gill, JJ Murray, Karl Griffith.

ST PAUL'S COLLEGE: Brian McDonnell; Conor Lynch, Kevin Hetherton, Killian Sweeney; Aran Lynch, Eoghan Daray; Robert Diffley, Joseph Ryan; Graham Stanly, Alan Hetherton, David Concarr; Gani Keane, Jack Sherlock.