| 9.6°C Dublin

Gilroy and Harte in Croker bluff

PAT GILROY and Mickey Harte have launched an early bout of mind games with some intriguing selection announcements for tomorrow night's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Dublin and Tyrone at Croke Park.

Gilroy caused a stir at a DCU press conference this morning when including Eoghan O'Gara -- long flagged as a definite non-starter with a broken wrist -- in his starting Sky Blue team.

However, the Dublin boss immediately threw open the possibility of an 11th hour change when revealing that O'Gara must still undergo a late fitness test.

The same applies to two others returning from injury but not named in the team -- midfielder Michael Darragh Macauley and defender Philly McMahon.

On O'Gara's fitness, Gilroy revealed: "They took off the cast on Wednesday evening and it was fine, it had healed well.

"He'll have a light protective case over it, and again we'll fully test it out tomorrow but it's probably a week or two quicker than anyone could have expected.

"We're very happy but we have to test it out fully tomorrow, whether he can take full contact, and it's a bit the same with Michael Darragh."

While Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has raised eyebrows by not listing Ryan McMenamin and Stephen O’Neill in his official match-day 26 – even though both are almost certain to feature, at least among the subs – Gilroy has done likewise with some notable omissions from his chosen team.

Both Macauley, returning from a broken finger, and Barry Cahill had been touted for possible starts – but instead the manager has confined himself to one defensive change from the team that laboured past Wexford.

Cian O’Sullivan is recalled for his first appearance of 2011 after a season blighted by hamstring trouble. The Kilmacud player is named at corner-back, although there has been strong talk of a positional switch with regular No 6 Ger Brennan.

Gilroy has stuck with his Leinster final midfield duo of Denis Bastick and Eamon Fennell while there’s no place for Cahill, contrary to suggestions that the versatile veteran was poised for a new role on the ‘40’.

DUBLIN (SF v Tyrone): S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons, Rory O’Carroll, C O’Sullivan; J McCarthy, G Brennan, K Nolan; D Bastick, E Fennell; P Flynn, A Brogan, B Cullen (capt); E O’Gara, D Connolly, B Brogan.