| 18.7°C Dublin

Geraghty vows to play on with McEnaney's Royals

MEATH legend Graham Geraghty has vowed to play for the Royal County in the upcoming Allianz National League.

Geraghty (38), a Royal selector on Seamus McEnaney's management team, emerged from a three-year retirement last year and came off the bench in the Leinster SFC clash with Kildare, scoring a 'goal' which was controversially disallowed.

A ruptured Achilles subsequently put pay to his summer involvement but the former All-Ireland winning captain believes he still has something to offer Meath from a playing perspective.

"I would be hoping to get a couple of runs in the league, I'll see how it is then," said Geraghty. "If the ankle stands up then I suppose it will be a case of pushing on from there and assessing how it goes."

"At the moment I'm trying to do some training just trying to get myself back into some kind of shape," added Geraghty.

Seamus Kenny, meanwhile, will captain the Meath senior football again this year.

The Royals look to be without talented young forward Jamie Queeney for this Sunday's Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup first round clash with Wexford after suffering a suspected broken jaw in a challenge match against Cavan on Tuesday night in Navan.

Meath are also planning without star attacker Shane O'Rourke for the National League while defender Kevin Reilly is also facing an extended spell on the sidelines owing to an Achilles injury.

KILMACUD CROKES player Brian Hanamy will start on the bench for Offaly this Sunday in their O'Byrne Cup opener against Westmeath in Tullamore (2.0) as the Dublin native looks to make his debut for the Faithful County having declared for the midlanders under the parentage rule.

New Offaly manager, Gerry Cooney, has named regular goalkeeper, Alan Mulhall, at full-forward in an experimental line-up which also features experienced county hurler, Daniel Currams, among their substitutes.

Sunday's winner will face the victors of Kildare v DIT in the quarter-finals.

OFFALY (SF v Westmeath): K Meehan; J Gallagher, P McConway, S Pender; J Keane, B Darby, L Hiney; R Dalton, R Brady; G Guilfoyle, N Dunne, A Keenaghan; W Mulhall, A Mulhall, K Casey.